Author Interview – Lisa M. Taylor


Lisa M. Taylor is an independent author living in Winchester, Kentucky, although she has spent her life moving from place to place. In May 2010 she graduated from the United States Military Academy at West Point, New York. In July, however, her military career was cut short when she was medically discharged from the Army. After a short time in graduate school studying physics, Lisa realized her calling lay in a passion she’d indulged as only a hobby most of her life; writing. She has published one novel, The Hour of Tiamat, an anthology of poetry, Book of Dreams and Nightmares, and currently writes a series of digital short stories for Kindle called the Shana Black Series. She plans to put every effort into finding an agent for her next book and being traditionally published.

Amazon Page     Her Website     Facebook Page     Goodreads     Twitter

Let’s say hello!

Hello! What’s your name?

Hi! I’m Lisa Taylor

What do you write and why?

Well, I write all kinds of things! My favorite genre, first and foremost, is fantasy and paranormal fiction. My previous book The Hour of Tiamat is paranormal fiction and I’m working on the first book of a fantasy trilogy. However I also write a series of action short stories and poetry, so I branch out a lot. I also have books planned for the future that fall into still different genres, like drama and memoirs.

I write multiple genres because it helps me improve my writing. It’s tempting sometimes to stick with paranormal and fantasy, because that’s what I love. I see real life everyday…I want to read or write about something that’s not real! What I don’t want to do is get so ingrained with certain habits or styles that are unique to fantasy that I can’t write anything else! So I try to stay varied.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I actually write more genres than I read. For example, I love to write poetry, but I rarely read it. I read the genres that are near and dear to my heart, fantasy, science fiction, paranormal fiction and adventures.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

The Hour of Tiamat  

What is it about?

It’s a paranormal fiction. In the beginning, four high school students have come across the Necronomicon, a book that holds all the ancient religious secrets of the Sumerians, the first known culture to grace the Earth. They learn of the Ancient Ones and the Elders, two races of Gods that warred over mankind, and at the beginning of the book, they are set up to perform a forbidden ritual that will bring the Ancient Ones back to the Earth.

Tristan is one of these students, but he isn’t like the others. He doubts their cause, and the ease with which this gang commits vile crimes unsettles him. He only does the ritual under the threat of his life, but when he is faced with the choice of killing again or betraying the Gods, there’s only one thing he can do.

Now Tristan and Evelyn, who was pulled into this mess by chance, but is actually very much connected to it in ways she can’t imagine, are running for their lives. They have to stop the process which Tristan help set in motion before it is too late, but with murderers on their trail and demons plotting against them, how can they possibly succeed? Join Tristan and Evelyn in an adventure that will take them from the streets to the stars.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

The way in which it mixes fact with fiction. The Sumerians were a very real culture and the first known civilization in our history. The mythology in this book is actually very closely based on theirs, including the battle between the Ancient Ones and the Elders. If one were to believe in magic or ancient alien theories, this book might become frighteningly plausible.

What’s the story behind the story?

In high school I often spent time researching topics that interested me, and one of my favorites was ancient history. The Sumerian culture in particular fascinated me because of the mysterious circumstances under which it appeared and how little understanding we have of the culture. My research of Sumer coupled with my love for H.P. Lovecraft and similar horror books inspired this story.

What is your goal as an author?

Well…who of us DOESN’T dream of landing a major contract with an award winning motion picture attached?

But honestly, if that never happens, I’ll still love being a writer. I have so many stories popping up in my mind every day, and I want the world to hear them. My real goal is to make a noticeable difference in the world with new ideas that I can spread through my stories.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

Yes! I’m working very hard to finish up the first book of a young adult fantasy trilogy! It is called Crystallized (Book 1 of the Crystal Chronicles) and is AWESOME 🙂 I will have the book finished and begin querying agents after Christmas.

It is the story of Rachael Elizabeth, a prodigy stuck in a society that is rigidly ruled by a religion of order. Individuality is frowned upon and she is always in trouble. Her life, and that of her only friend Annalise, is turned upside down when a powerful crystal jumps from her dreams to reality.

Now a darkness is growing in the forest and Rachael finds that magical powers in a structure driven society are hard to hide. With nowhere to go, she must face the power there before it reaches beyond the forest boundary and destroys everything she knows. Join Rachael in an epic adventure where she will not only begin to discover other worlds, but also the magical origins of her own.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Wow that’s a tough one. I’d have to say my favorite author is H.P. Lovecraft. Not only do I love the mind-bending horror of his stories, I love his writing style. I can hear his extreme intelligence through his writing.

My favorite book changes all the time. Right now it is probably Prince of Thorns. It is a fantasy recently released and was a very good read.

Where can readers find you and your work?

My homepage! They can also find me on Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com (And the store can order my work for you too!) and AuthorHouse.com.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I’d prefer to publish traditionally through one of the major publishing houses, but that is a lofty goal. I would prefer that because I have no training or experience in marketing or running a business, which you must do to sell your own work. I’m learning, like everyone else, but having that deal would take me from being a writer on the side to hopefully being a writer as my main career.

That said, self-publishing, as far as publishing through small presses that don’t charge, or on your own through kindle, is a great opportunity and an amazing learning tool. The only self-publishing method I really DON’T like is publishing through publishers that charge thousands of dollars to put out your work. It is expensive and the publisher has no invested interest in your work. There is no reason to self publish that way.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“It is no measure of health to be well-adjusted to a profoundly sick society.” – Krishnamurti

Do you have anything else to say to the readers or aspiring writers out there?

Don’t give up! Everyone’s writing sucks at first. I’ve got five publications and I’m still learning new things about writing every day, and every time I wish I could go back to everything I’ve published and fix them all. It’s okay. Do your research and make yourself write every day, and anyone can write well. It’s the desire and drive to actually stick with it that is rare 🙂

You can find Lisa’s work at all of the following links: Please pay her a visit!
Her Amazon Page
Her Website
Her Facebook Page
Her Goodreads Page
Her Twitter Account 

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Author Interview – Lisa M. Taylor

  1. John Hansen says:

    Nice interview! Wow, I read that fast. 😉

  2. Chris G. says:

    Great interview – and any time I can add a new writer to the list of fantasy authors, I consider it a good day. Plus, I love the quote she went with.

  3. Chris G. says:

    Of course, that should read, “the quote that you went with”. Do forgive me. It’s quite late.

Leave our authors some love...

