Author Interview – Yasmin Radwan


Meet Yasmin Radwan! She studied creative writing at Northumbria University in Newcastle, UK, and currently lives in Cairo, Egypt, something that shows through in her stories. Her first ebook, A Kiss, is available now on amazon and amazon UK. She also writes children’s books and is working on a compilation of short stories.

Amazon UK       Amazon       B&N Nook

Let’s say hello!

Hello! What’s your name?

Yasmin Radwan

What do you write and why?

Honestly I don’t know what sort of genre I write in. I’m interested in humans’ problems, history and art. I like writing short stories, sticking to past tense to fast move the pace of the story. I think it’s brilliant to present an idea in just a few pages.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I read many genres not particularly the same genre that I write, like the historical.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

My first ebook is A Kiss, two digital short stories. You will find the book at amazon.co.uk and noble and Barnes nook.

What is it about?

Two digital short stories: A Kiss it’s about cheating and how well someone can manipulate someone’s life just by acting as the victim.

The second one is “Boogie’s Love Equation” it’s about self-delusional man who thinks that he found the ultimate brilliant equation for love.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

Bringing Egyptian culture into the world book market is very new.

What’s the story behind the story?

I like to explore and analyze human nature. Human nature is very interesting and difficult at the same time. So generally people are a source of inspiration for me.

What is your goal as an author?

I’m influenced by the Egyptian literature. The Egyptian literature is very rich. It encompasses Egyptian tradition and its civilizational heritage, love, warmth, emotion, politics, concepts of orientalism and colonialism, and the struggle for independence. I hope to find the Egyptian literature and traditions known and appreciated in the whole world not only in the Middle East.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I’m working on a collection of short stories about both Egyptians in the west and in Egypt. I also finished my first children’s book “Zoya’s Trip”.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

I have many favourite writers like Naguib Mahfouz, Marquez, Dostoevsky and Chekhov. Two of my favourite books are “The Museum of Innocence” by Orhan Pamuk and “Crime and Punishment by Dostoevsky.

Where can readers find you and your work?

You can find “A Kiss” in Amazon.co.uk and Noble and Barnes nook.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

Finding someone else believes in your talent and your words is a dream for any writer but ususally it’s very difficult to get published in the traditional way so you think of the other alternative. You want your words to be read.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“God doesn’t have a Blackberry or an iPhone, but He is my favorite contact. He doesn’t have Facebook, but He is my best friend. He doesn’t have Twitter, but I follow Him, and He doesn’t have internet, but I am connected to Him. And even if He has a great communication service, his customer service never puts me on hold.” Anonymous

Is there anything else you’d like to say to our readers?

Happy reading! There are a lot of good writers in the market, enjoy their work.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to pay Yasmin a visit!
Amazon UK       Amazon       B&N Nook

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Author Interview – Yasmin Radwan

  1. Very nicely done. I am genuinely intrigued with A Kiss and plan to get a copy today.

  2. Dianna Graveman says:

    Thanks for sharing this great interview! I’ve included a link to it in the headlines at “Ready, Set, Publish! http://paper.li/DiannaGraveman/1322682471?utm_source=subscription&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=paper_sub

    • Lisa Taylor says:

      Thank you Dianna! There will be a new interview posted every other day for the next two weeks! (Of course you have other things to talk about in your newspaper, but the interviews will be here if you need material!)

      I’ll make sure to put a link to your newspaper on the side bar of my page (as soon as I get home, anyway, I’m mooching off work’s computer at the moment!)

Leave our authors some love...

