Author Interview – George S. Geisinger


Meet George Geisinger!

I’m a writer, a composer of music, a guitarist & a craftsman. I crochet just about anything, except granny squares.

Let’s say hello!

Amazon    His Facebook    His Twitter

Hello! What’s your name?

George S Geisinger

What do you write and why?

I write what I call paranormal fiction, because it’s writing truth, or reality, in a fictional setting.  In most of the stories I write, I site real places, real people’s first names, and real events; but the ways I write about them are derived from my own imagination.  I believe a writer should write what he knows.  It is a writer’s responsibility to speak the truth about his experience and his world.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I read what interests me at the moment, whatever authors inspire my curiosity.  For a long time I only read the classics, but now I have an appetite for a lot of contemporary fiction.  I want to go farther afield in my reading, than the places I went to in high school and college English classes.  I want to know the present day realities of presently working authors.

In the 70’s and 80’s, I wanted to read the signs of the times at that point, and read things like Ram Das and Carlos Caseneda, George Orwell and guys like that.  The times are changing again now, and I want to be a part of all of it.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

Two Legged, by George S Geisinger.

What is it about?

Two Legged is about a man’s perception of the thoughts and feelings of a young, female deer, who has stepped out of character, into a startling reality for both parties.  The two legged tries to imagine the thinking of the four legged, and tries to understand the world the way the Bambi would think about its surroundings.

The other story included in the same download is Mrs YoungMrs Young is the story of an elderly couple who find themselves at odds with each other, after 60 years of marriage, because Mr Young has arranged to sell the car and the house, and move the two of them into an assisted living environment.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

Other paranormal fiction has a lot of contrived circumstances, like Vampires, extra-terrestrials, or aliens, or violence, to keep the suspense going by contriving a reality from their imaginations.  Here, I write from a psychological perspective that is true to my own life experience.  I believe I have a responsibility to document a truth which is not well known.  The human mind has dimensions that most people never have imagined, and writing is the safest way to probe that world for pleasure and provocation of thought.  Just writing about my experiences helps me feel more healthy.

What’s the story behind the story?

In many ways, I’ve lived through the things that I write about.  In the midst of an illness I’ve had all my adult life, I thought as the man in Two Legged thought.  I was there.  I petted that doe, I thought those thoughts, I experienced those things.  It’s almost memoirs, rather than fiction.

In Mrs Young, I knew an elderly couple like the people in the story.  I’ve changed their names, and have not confronted either one of them with the immediacy of their story.  Since I’ve been living in assisted living, myself, I have utilized some of the story from my experience, but most of it is a figment of my imagination.

What is your goal as an author?

To open the minds of the reading public to an understand the concept of intelligent, talented, worthwhile people, who have a chemical imbalance in their brains, and what the longterm consequences are in life, for individuals like me, who, through no fault of our own, have an illness we have to live with, because the alternative is unthinkable.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I’m always working at documenting my own reality, since my perceptions of reality have been questioned by the medical profession.  There is always one more story, which I’m holding onto for a little more time, to evaluate what I’ve thought or written, before I hand it over to my publisher and to the public.  It’s a question of conscience.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

That is a very difficult question to answer.  I would have to say my favorite author is Moses, who wrote the first five chapters of the Holy Bible.  There are many competent writers I’ve enjoyed over the years, and I would exhaust myself trying to think of all their names.  But my all-time favorite is, I believe the Jewish Nation calls it the Torah, or the first five chapters of the Old Testament.  I continue to be fascinated by the idea of miracles and the concept that God talks to men.  For a man who has been diagnosed as hearing voices, I have been consumed by the idea that I have heard the voice of God…… or the Holy Spirit, if you will.  It is only because I believe God has allowed me to hear his thoughts, that I continue to survive.

Where can readers find you and your work?

I do not have a website, or a blog.  I did have my writing posted on AuthorStand.com, but since signing a contract with Trestle Press, I’ve deleted all my work from Author Stand, for fear of breach of contract.  One would have to hope for more participation in publishing my work on the Amazon Kindle Store, by my friend, Giovanni, at Trestle Press, where I have signed on just recently.  I’d say, keep your eyes on the kindle store, and on Facebook and Twitter, under the name, George S Geisinger, or geostan51.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why? 

I prefer traditional publishing to self-publishing.  I don’t believe self-publishing houses do anything but collect an author’s money, and leave it at that.  I think self-publishing is basically a scam, and I’ve participated in enough scams, already.  I’m thinking of the publishing houses that want hundreds, or even thousands of dollars to publish soft-bound, paperback copies of an unknown author’s work, taking their money out of the pockets of the unsuspecting authors themselves.  I’m all thru with those people.  That’s like trying to get rich on foreclosure real estate.  So many people lose their shirts doing that sort of thing.

But there’s another type of self-publishing going on with the Kindle Store at Amazon.  I tried it, but ended up signing on with Trestle Press instead.  Trestle Press is an e-publisher, and I’ve voluntarily taken all my own stories offline, from my personal accounts, because I’ve signed with them.  Trestle Press is a traditional publisher, asking a percentage of sales for their interest in the author’s work.  They provide quality editing and beautiful cover graphics, and give a forum for publicizing the work, which the author can take an active part in.  I’m very happy with Trestle Press.

I think it’s admirable that there are so many fine, new authors who dare do all the production themselves & take the initiative to post their books on the Kindle Store for sale.  It’s a brave new world on the internet.

I also think it’s a wonderful opportunity for writers who find emerging markets for e-publishing, which virtually cancel out all of the expenses of the whole publication ball game that there used to be, for freelance and emerging writers.  There are no copies to print, no envelopes to buy, no postage necessary, and so on.  Now, it’s all done electronically.  That whole scene is new and exciting for me, as I’m certain it is for many writers.

Do you have a favorite quote?

I enjoy quotes from Roosevelt and Churchill, from the Second World War,  “All we have to fear is fear itself,” and, “A day that will live in infamy.”  There is also one from my high school music teacher, my first mentor, “When the note goes up, the sound goes up.  When the note goes down, the sound goes down.”  I enjoyed the charisma of Jack Kennedy in the early 1960’s, when I was young, and some of the apocolyptic authors of the twentieth century.

Is there anything else you’d like to say to our readers?

The average person in the community fears the street person and the begger.  But the Federal Government has destroyed the entire concept of asylum for people with problems with their minds.  The media teaches the general public to fear these people, and does a lot of stereotyping of these people in public entertainment, because they want to write a thrilling story, and make it plausible.

But the general public hasn’t been given the opportunity to learn what mental illness really is.  People with mental illness usually have better than average intelligence and talents, and frequently have been the most ill-used people one could possibly imagine.  We need our asylums.

Schizophrenia and Bipolar Disorders are not what makes up the criminal mind, generally, contrary to what the media would have us to believe.  What these disorders are, simply, is a chemical imbalance in the brain.  Generally, this can be treated by medicine and psychotherapy.  A lot more is known medically now, at the last of 2011, than has ever been known before about these disorders.  There are chemical breakthroughs in treating the chronic schizophrenic and bipolar minds, than have ever been available until very recently, I mean, within my own lifetime.

My father had paranoid schizophrenia, and a Degree and Ordination in Theology, as well as a PhD in Educational Research.  He was a brilliant and talented man, and very misunderstood.  He could not get the proper medical help in his day and time, because the medicines simply did not exist yet.  Schizophrenia is a genetically inherited disease, and I am not ashamed to say that I’ve come down with it, myself.  I’ve had the flu, too, and I don’t think that’s a disgrace, either.

What I hope to achieve in my writing, is to generate some clearer understanding of the schizoprenic mindset, and the workings of a psychosis which has a conscience and self-control.  I’ve had some major psychotic episodes in my lifetime, since that’s what happens to me when my medications stop working for the moment.  But I continue to maintain a reasonably normal, nonviolent life, with respect for all people’s rights and feelings, and for the laws of human decency, as well as the laws of the land.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Thank you for the opportunity to speak with you, as well.

Please pay George a visit at the links below!

Amazon    His Facebook    His Twitter

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Author Interview – George S. Geisinger

  1. CeCe says:

    Hi Lisa, Hi George,

    Great Interview!

    CeCe

Leave our authors some love...

