Author Interview – Crystal Linn


Find Crystal Linn on Facebook

Hello! What’s your name?

Hi there, my name is Crystal Linn, and I want to thank you, Lisa, for interviewing me for your blog.

What do you write and why?

The joke is that I have been blessed, or cursed, with the ability to write anything.  I write non-fiction and poetry to inspire and to educate.  I write fiction to entertain and to inspire.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Definitely, I do read the same genres I write in as those are what I enjoy reading –and writing. Also, reading these help me become a better writer.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

My (our) current book is Amish Forever. This is my third book, and my first novel.

What is it about?

It is an Amish Romance novel which is being serialized on-line by Trestle Press.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

One thing that makes our book different is that we are adding extra sub-plots and twists to our story line. Another thing that makes our book different is the co-authorship. The majority of romance novels are written by one female. In the rare instance a romance novel is co-authored it is usually done by two females. My co-author is Roger Rheinheimer, who is the author of the popular book, Amish Snow.

What’s the story behind the story?

Roger placed an ad, asking for a co-author, and I replied to that ad. When he told me about some of the other people who replied as well, I feel honored that he picked me. We make a good literary team and it is fun co-authoring with him as we discuss possible twists to the basic story-line.

What is your goal as an author?

It is my goal to do more of what I am doing now with my writing: to help and inspire more people.

For non-fiction writing, I will continue writing my parenting column, and maybe write a success column. I want to write parenting books for those who parent other people’s children. My second book was an inspirational anthology entitled From the Heart. People are already sending me submissions for the second volume.

For fiction writing, I will continue writing short stories and will write more novels.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I’ve started a mystery novel and hope to have the first chapter finished and edited by the end of   February, 2012. The hero and his side kick are adult Hardy Boys, and the action takes place in Seattle and I want to add lots of local trivia. My next poetry book, Poems for Friends, will be released sometime in 2012.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Lisa, I’m not sure I can answer this question. I am an insatiable reader and have many favorites. I enjoy Shakespeare, Agatha Christie, Mary Higgins Clark and Dick Francis. A few of my favorite books are: The Count of Monte Christo, Murder on the Orient Express, and Where are the Children (Mary Higgins Clark).

Where can readers find you and your work?

Right now I am in the process of building my website and my blog. I am on Facebook and  would love to receive an email at martinsmuses@hotmail.com (Reader, be sure and put Lisa’s name in the subject line for us.)

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I have done both self-publishing and worked with a publisher. As a result, my answer is: it depends on what your project is as to whether a writer should pick self-publishing or traditional publishing. In my writers’ group, I encourage everyone to do their homework and to ask countless questions before making a decision.

Do you have a favorite quote?

Most writers I know have many favorite quotes. I have more favorites than most.

“How can I know what I think until I see what I write.” E.M. Forrester

“Life is a daring adventure or nothing.” Helen Keller

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

“To thine own self be true.” Shakespeare

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

I want to encourage you to keep up the great work with this blog of yours. You are a positive inspiration to many of us and I thank you.

Aww. thanks! And thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Thank you, Lisa, this was fun and I hope I was able to encourage your readers, at least somewhat.

Please stop by and thank Crystal at her Facebook, send her an email, or see her work here!

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

