Author Interview – J.E. Seymour


Meet J.E. Seymour!

J.E. Seymour lives in a small town in seacoast NH. J.E.’s first novel, “Lead Poisoning” was released by Mainly Murder Press on November 1st, 2010. She has had short stories published in anthologies – “Live Free or Die, Die, Die;” “Windchill,” “Deadfall,” and “Quarry;” in Thriller UK Magazine, and in numerous ezines, including Shots, Mouth Full of Bullets, Mysterical-E, A Twist of Noir, Beat to a Pulp, Yellow Mama and Shred of Evidence. J.E. is the markets coordinator for the Short Mystery Fiction Society and a member of Sisters in Crime and Mystery Writers of America. http://jeseymour.com

Homepage     Facebook     Amazon

Hello! What’s your name?

J.E. (Joy) Seymour

What do you write and why?

I write crime fiction and mysteries.  I’ve had 20 short stories published and one novel.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Absolutely.  I love Crime Fiction.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

My novel, Lead Poisoning.  I also have some short stories available as ebooks.

What is it about?

Fugitive mob troubleshooter Kevin Markinson thinks New Hampshire is the perfect place to retire with his family … but his family doesn’t want to see him. It turns out that it’s not that easy to retire from his profession. Then there’s the fact that he is also a fugitive, on the run for a crime he didn’t commit. Things go downhill fast as he struggles to balance his home life and his job with his need to keep moving as the law starts to catch up with him.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

The emphasis on family.  This book is about Kevin and his family.  It’s not just a shoot-em-up.

What’s the story behind the story?

I enjoy reading “fugitive” stories.  This is part of a series that started out with a dream about a man stuck in a pipe under some railroad tracks and the kid that helps him.  That was the first book I wrote.  This is the third, but the first one published.

What is your goal as an author?

Isn’t it the same for everyone?  To write a fabulous novel that gets picked up by a major publisher and turned into a popular movie!

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I have two prequels to Lead PoisoningStress Fractures and Frostbite – that I am polishing, and a sequel – Arrhythmia, that is going out to beta readers soon.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Lawrence Block.  I love the Matt Scudder series, especially When the Sacred Ginmill Closes.

Where can readers find you and your work?

My website – http://jeseymour.com.  I’m also on facebook – http://www.facebook.com/pages/JE-Seymour/389853230240

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I’m terrible at marketing, so I really need a traditional publisher.  Even with a traditional publisher, I am still doing my own selling, but it at least gave me a little help.  I didn’t have to worry about getting it to bookstores, for instance, I can just tell them to order it through Ingram.

Do you have a favorite quote? 

“Men hang out their signs indicative of their respective trades: shoemakers hang out a gigantic shoe; jewelers, a monster watch; and the dentist hangs out a gold tooth; but up in the mountains of New Hampshire, God Almighty has hung out a sign to show that there He makes men.” Daniel Webster

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Persistence and practice.  Part of the problem with the easy availability of self-publishing is that authors will publish work that really needs more revision.  Rejection teaches you to self-edit, to hone your work and resubmit, which is something that everyone who writes needs to learn.  Keep sending your work out and write a better book.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Don’t give up!  Do understand that when you are starting out your work stinks.  Everyone’s does.  Keep writing, learn to self-edit, and keep making it better.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit J.E. Seymour at the links below!

Homepage     Facebook     Amazon

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Author Interview – J.E. Seymour

  1. John Hansen says:

    Awesome interview! I’ve had the pleasure of reading “Lead Poisoning”. It’s a great read. Highly recommended.

  2. Kaitlin says:

    Nice interview. I like how the book he’s promoting is different with the family involved. Way to go!

  3. CeCe says:

    Great interview. I will definitely check out the books, especially ‘Lead Poisoining’ highly recommended by John. Wonderful advice about writing and self edit.

  4. jennymilch says:

    I love your advice to emerging writers! And I love what reviewer Oline Cogdill calls “family thrillers”–sounds like yours is a family mystery. I’ll look for it!

  5. Lisa Taylor says:

    Thanks everyone for commenting! I hope you enjoy J.E.’s work!

  6. J.E.Seymour says:

    Thank you everyone. Thanks for the praise, John. Please feel free to drop me an email if you have any questions!

Leave our authors some love...

