Author Interview – Karen Malena


Hello everyone! Let me introduce myself. I am Karen Malena. Working in the dental field for over thirty years has given me compassion and a love of people. A devoted mother, daughter and wife, I hope to convey to all of you, the ups and downs of true to life Asituations with my writing. Coming from an Italian family has given me passion. Love of reading, has given me the desire to begin my own journey of creativity. I look forward to hearing from you with any questions or comments.  You may contact me at scoutfinch15003@yahoo.com. You can also check out my blogs at karenmalena.blogspot.com

Amazon     Facebook     Karen’s Blog

Let’s say hi!

Hello! What’s your name?

My name is Karen Malena.

What do you write and why?

I have written a  Christian young adult novella.   This is a story which has been a long time in the making.  For many years, I had a vision of a story of two brothers, one who is favored by their father.  I wrote themes and poetry in high school, and tried to dabble in some short stories through the years.  This is the first time I pursued writing with abandon.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Yes, I  read the Christian genre as well, but I do not limit myself.  I like books from A-Z.  Horror, suspense, classics.  I was raised on horror, from the corny movies of the 1970’s to Stephen King’s awesome books.  I usually have one or two books which I am reading at the same time.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

The title I am promoting is called Son of Mine.

What is it about?

This is the story of a 20 year old young man, Aaron DeAngelis, who was born with a terrible stuttering problem, which fuels his feelings of low self esteem.  He is a twin of a “perfect” brother, Jeffrey, although their closeness is evident from the time they are little children.  Their verbally abusive, alcoholic father, favors Jeffrey, leaving Aaron to try harder to please him.  Aaron doesn’t follow in his father and brother’s footsteps, to be successful in sports.  His true love, from an early age is music.  All he ever wanted, was to sing.  He finds himself a brawler in his high school years, able to release the frustrations which had been building.   After a day of  humiliation, Aaron finds himself at a wild party, and drinks uncontrollably for the first time.  Speeding along on his motorcycle, intoxicated, he decides he wants to end his life.  A series of events are set in motion, after Aaron awakes in a hospital room the next morning, which will set him on a course to seek his heart’s desire.

What is your goal as an author?

My goal is to touch lives, whether young people, or people my own age.  I want someone to walk away from my story changed, perhaps in their heart.  I want them to feel emotions, to talk about it long after they have read it.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

Yes, I am working on the sequel to Son of  Mine, entitled The Son Shines.  Although my first story was set in Aaron’s point of view, I decided to write this one from a different perspective.  I want to convey how Aaron has grown in his faith, and the lives which he touches.  Also, I will tell a background story of how his father had a tragic past of his own, and this is what leads him to the anger he now feels.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

I have several favorite authors, Stephen King, John Grisham, Diana Gabaldon.  My absolute favorite book of all time is To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee.  That is followed closely by Gone With the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell.

Where can readers find you and your work?

Readers can find my book at Amazon and Barnes and Noble.  Also I have a blog called The Finches Nest.  Of course I am on Facebook also.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I prefer a traditional publishing house over self-publishing.  It is difficult enough to promote with the help of others, let alone try to do it yourself.

Do you have a favorite quote?

Yes, my favorite quote is:  “God loves each of us as if there were only one of us.”  St. Augustine

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

My advice for aspiring authors is to pursue their dream.  Write a little every day if you can.  Don’t worry about how it looks at first, you can always go back and change things.  Be inspired by the things around you,.  Write about things you know, but research facts that you do not know.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

I want to thank you very kindly for this amazing interview!  Wish you all the best!!!

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit Karen at the links below!

Amazon     Facebook     Karen’s Blog

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Author Interview – Karen Malena

  1. jennymilchje says:

    I love twin novels! Yours sounds intriguing…

    • Karen Malena says:

      Thank you. If you have a chance to read it, let me know what you think, and if it touched you. I didn’t have twin boys myself, but my boys were 2 1/2 years apart, and seemed closer than twins at times. Their concern and goodness to one another was always evident, so I chose to have the brothers in my book to have a good, strong relationship with each other.

  2. Very nice interview. Look forward to more works by this promising author.

  3. Karen Malena says:

    Roger, you are always my cheerleader!!! Thank you for always taking the time to post something nice.

Leave our authors some love...

