Author Interview – Victoria Watson


Meet Victoria Watson!

Victoria Watson was awarded ‘Young Reviewer of the Year’ in 2009 and completed a Masters degree in Creative Writing in 2010.

Victoria has contributed to publications including ‘True Faith’ (Newcastle United fanzine), NCJ Media’s north-east titles The Journal, Evening Chronicle and Sunday Sun. She has also reviewed for Amazon, Waterstones and Closer Magazine.

Victoria had a story published in the ‘Home Tomorrow’ anthology published by 6th Edition Publishing in 2011. Her work is also featured ‘Off the Record’ and ‘Brit Grit Too’. Victoria also blogs for Close to the Bone at http://www.craigrobertdouglas.com/

Victoria currently lives in the North-East of England and dreams of living somewhere hot and sunny, paying the bills with her writing.

For more of Victoria’s writing, visit her blog at http://elementaryvwatson.wordpress.com/

Twitter    Blog     Facebook     Goodreads     Shelfari     Amazon

Let’s say hi!

Hello! What’s your name?

Hey, my name’s Victoria Watson but I’m known on Twitter as @vpeanuts

What do you write and why?

I write in a variety of genres; I’ve written family sagas, mystery, crime and have even tried my hand at comedy. Currently have three short stories published through Trestle Press (‘I Should Have Seen it Coming’, ‘Keeping Quiet’ and ‘Inside’) but I’m still working on a full-length novel called ‘Fix Me Up’. I also write a lot of reviews and opinion pieces on my blog http://elementaryvwatson.wordpress.com I use writing – no matter what format – as a way of quieting my mind, I always have so many thoughts and so many ideas that writing at least gets them out of there and helps me sleep!

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

As a writer, I like to think of myself as fairly flexible. My reading tastes used to be limited only to ‘chick lit’ but I realized that there were so many other stories out there and I love to read stories that are unique. I’d like to think that I write original stories but I doubt it!

What is the title you are promoting right now? What is it about?

I’d be thrilled for people to read any of my stories. ‘I Should Have Seen it Coming’ is about a woman who is laid-off from her job and tries to make a living as a psychic. ‘Keeping Quiet’ is the story of an elderly lady who considers all of the choices she’s made while trying to keep everyone else in her life happy. ‘Inside’ is about a building that’s being demolished and why it has had such an impact on one family in particular.

What makes these stories different?

These stories cross genres but they are all ultimately about human relationships and how they can be affected by certain choices that we as humans make.

What inspired you to write these stories?

Inspiration comes to me in different forms. It can be something as simple as driving past a shop being demolished. ‘I Should Have Seen it Coming’ started when I went to see a psychic in a local pub and just grew from there. Although I want to believe, I’m not entirely convinced and I think my skepticism shows in that story.

What is your goal as an author?

I think most authors would like to be bestsellers. My dream is really to become a full-time writer and earn enough to live off.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I have a couple of stories in my mind at the moment. I have been working on my full-length novel ‘Fix Me Up’ for two years and I’m starting to get very excited about it again so hopefully I will start working on that again soon. I have two stories that I am working on for Trestle. The main one is a bit of a change in direction for me – I’ve decided to have a try at writing in the third person.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

I have read so many different authors and books over my life but I have to admit Roald Dahl has had the biggest impact on my life. I have been reading his book since childhood but still don’t think I have read an author who can evoke so much in the imagination of the reader. Dahl’s created language is so intelligent and evocative, he cannot be beaten. I think my favourite book of all time is ‘We Need to Talk about Kevin’ by Lionel Shriver. A lot came close – and a very close second is ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee – but Shriver’s book is just a complete work of art. Her portrayal of motherhood is so sharp and honest. The characters of Eva and Kevin are so well-drawn and filled with insight. It is a scary read.

Where can readers find you and your work?

My blog is http://elementaryvwatson.wordpress.com *main blog

You can find me on Facebook as Vic Watson

I’m on Twitter as @vpeanuts

I’m also on Goodreads and Shelfari.

On Amazon:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Should-Have-Seen-Coming-ebook/dp/B005V0JGIQ/ref=pd_sim_kinc_1

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Keeping-Quiet-ebook/dp/B0060D8O18/ref=pd_ecc_rvi_1

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Inside-ebook/dp/B0068U431S/ref=pd_ecc_rvi_2

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

The publishing industry is definitely coming around to the idea of self-publishing. With the advent of new technologies, like Kindle and e-books, it is much easier for writers to upload their own work and take total control of their destiny. I was at a conference about getting published earlier this month and industry figures are now seeing self-publication as a rite of passage in your writing career. The publishing world is changing and it is rare that anyone gets large advances now – it’s more accepted that you work your way up and build your own profile.

Do you have a favorite quote? 

My dad has always used two phrases to live his life by: “Treat people as you wish to be treated” and “It’s nice to be important but it’s important to be nice”.

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Keep at it. Unfortunately, writing is like everything else – you have to put in the effort to get the returns. Make sure you are as visible as you can possibly be – use social networks and blogs to your advantage. But most of all, keep writing. You are likely to get knockbacks but you have to keep going.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

I’d love to hear from anyone who would like me to get involved in writer’s events. I’m also keen to get feedback on my stories. Thanks for letting me be involved!

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please pay Victoria a visit below!

Twitter    Blog     Facebook     Goodreads     Shelfari     Amazon

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Author Interview – Victoria Watson

  1. John Hansen says:

    Great interview! Your book, “I Should Have Seen It Coming” sounds really cool! And that’s an awesome book cover. 🙂 How old are you exactly, if you dont mind me asking…? Sorry, just curious because you were awarded young reviewer.

  2. Kaitlin says:

    Great interview! I almost always write in the third person, so much so that I sometimes forget that first person exists, so I was slightly startled when she said it was a different direction. Ha! Well, good luck with your stories – sounds promising!

  3. Pingback: Where to find me this week…. | elementaryvwatson

  4. Pingback: 8 tips you can use today to breathe life into your characters « Thea Atkinson

Leave our authors some love...

