Author Interview – Bridget Straub


Meet Bridget Straub!

I’ve been telling stories for as long as I can remember. It’s what I love and what I’ve always wanted to do. While all the kids around me grew up and redefined their goals, mine remained stubbornly the same. Writer and mom, that was always the plan and that is what I am. I write every day and I have three kids I love with all my heart. I am a lucky person to have been able to follow my dreams.

Her Website   Amazon   Twitter   Facebook             Facebook Page   iTunes    Book Trailer

Let’s say hi!

Hello! What’s your name?

Bridget Straub

What do you write and why?

I write a little of everything. I never would have believed that I would write songs, but after reading my novel “Searching for My Wand”, my friend Laura Hall suggested we write a musical together. The result was “Room to Grow”. In the past two years I have been ridiculously prolific. I have written four novels and co-written the musical!

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I enjoy books that have characters I can relate to. I mostly read chick lit, and biographies. Right now I’m reading “Wedlocked” by Bonnie Trachtenberg and loving it!

What is the title you are promoting right now?

I am promoting “Searching for My Wand”.

What is it about?

It tells the story of a woman named (incorrectly) after Glinda the Good Witch. All of her life she has tried to live up to the reputation of this fictional character and frankly, it’s not going so well.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

One thing that makes it different is that many of the passages that the main character writes, have drawings to go with them.

What’s the story behind the story?

We had lost the only house my two girls had ever known and been forced to move into an apartment due to the recession. It was a dull, miserable place, with less than pleasant neighbors, and I was listening to a CD (which happened to be Laura Hall’s) and this one song, “The Moment”, really caught my attention. It is about defining moments and how what appears to be an ordinary moment may in fact change your life. Somehow the character of Glenda popped into my head and I instantly had my opening line. From that point on the book wrote itself.

What is your goal as an author?

I want to make people think and laugh, and escape into another world.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I am working on a very funny novel, “The Salacious Marny Otwiller”. She is so much fun to write because she says things that most of us only think.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Today it is Bonnie Trachtenberg, but it changes all of the time. Although not a novelist, I love Emma Thompson. She has great wit. I also love the book “The Witching Hour”, by Anne Rice, which goes against what I normally read.

Where can readers find you and your work?

I can, of course, be found at bridgetstraub.com, on facebook, Twitter @bridgetstraub. “Searching for My Wand” can be found on Amazon, iBookstores, Sony and B&N. Oh, and the booktrailer is on youtube.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

This first book is self-published and although it has been a huge undertaking, I have learned a lot. I like having control over the book cover and putting together the trailer, etc. I have such a wealth of material that I didn’t want to wait as long as traditional publishing would take, in order to get this out into the world. That said, if a huge publishing company came along with a respectable offer, I might take it, just to get further into the mainstream.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“Isn’t fun the best thing to have?” as said by Dudley Moore in “Arthur”.

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Oh, here’s another favorite quote, “If you want it, you take it, you pay the price.” Bruce Springsteen. It’s not an easy thing to be a writer. It takes commitment and a willingness to put yourself out there. If you want a career you are going to have to show people what you have written and that’s terrifying. However, it can also be incredibly rewarding.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Besides thank you for helping to spread the word about “Searching for My Wand”, I would say that it has been a pleasure putting myself out here and seeing how supportive people can be. If you are a writer or artist of any kind, join Twitter and you will find others who understand what you are trying to achieve, and who are willing to help.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please pay Bridget a visit at one of the sites below!

Her Website   Amazon   Twitter  Facebook 

Facebook Page   iTunes

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Author Interview – Bridget Straub

  1. CeCe says:

    Once again, a wonderful interview! Congrats to you Lisa and Bridget Straub. Searching For My Wand sounds like a super-fantastic read! Added to my to-read books Goodreads.

  2. Lafemmeroar says:

    Loved the vid, the interview and the story seems so intriguing …

  3. Thanks so much. Hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. I honestly wound up loving all of the characters.

Leave our authors some love...

