Author Interview – Kerry Mirza


Meet Kerry Mirza!

My name is Kerry Mirza. I was born in the Bronx New York, and moved to Long Island about ten years ago. I have been married to my husband for seventeen years and I have a seventeen year old son. I mostly enjoy reading and writing, as well as gardening since there was none to be found in the city. I didn’t start getting serious about writing professionally until I was in my thirties, having heard my whole life that very few make it. I finally realized being published was a dream I had to chase and here I am.

Her Homepage    Amazon    Barnes&Noble    Facebook    Twitter

Hello! What’s your name?

Kerry Mirza

What do you write and why?

I write YA paranormal novels. I started writing in my teens as a hobby and I just kept at it so it wasn’t really a surprise to me that my book would be about ghosts. Growing up I loved a good ghost story, it was something that could be debated, and did ghosts really exist? You know Vampires and Wizards can’t ever have the possibility of being real though, not that I don’t read them myself.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not? I pretty much read across the board. I think that’s why I incorporated so much into my story. It is a mix of all genres that I read mystery, paranormal, romance, action and suspense.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

The title is Soul Mates

What is it about?

It is a paranormal love story about two sides of good that must protect the living from demons and wayward ghosts. Each side has very different ideas how to go about this setting the stage for a Romeo and Juliette love story. It does have action as they are dealing with a nasty demon that is preying upon an innocent family. The protagonist, Nicholas is such a dimensional character I had a lot of fun him with or against other characters, as well as evolving his character throughout the story.

What makes this book different from others in your genre? 

I don’t think anyone has a place where ghosts exist and work together as to exorcise their evil counterparts out of the realm where they prey on the living. They are from all different backgrounds, eras, and mindsets as well as different ages. They are a motley crew so to speak!

But I think when I split the good guys in half and made them yin and yang I really changed the dynamics in ghost stories.  Evil and good have a pact also. I wanted to kind of explain as to why if good is so powerful why can’t it just stamp out evil in the end. I wanted the reader to think. As an adult it is

It is a paranormal love story about two sides of good that must protect the living from demons and wayward ghosts. Each side has very different ideas how to go about this setting the stage for a Romeo and Juliette love story. It does have action as they are dealing with a nasty demon that is preying upon an innocent family. The protagonist, Nicholas is such a dimensional character I had a lot of fun him with or against other characters, as well as evolving his character throughout the story.

What makes this book different from others in your genre? 

I don’t think anyone has a place where ghosts exist and work together as to exorcise their evil counterparts out of the realm where they prey on the living. They are from all different backgrounds, eras, and mindsets as well as different ages. They are a motley crew so to speak!

But I think when I split the good guys in half and made them yin and yang I really changed the dynamics in ghost stories.  Evil and good have a pact also. I wanted to kind of explain as to why if good is so powerful why can’t it just stamp out evil in the end. I wanted the reader to think. As an adult it is frustrating to see why bad things happen to good people and it is harder for teens to see this, as they were told as young children if you work hard, and do the right thing you will see good things come your way. Let’s face it, there are much more complex dynamics involved and I hear many teens as well as my own complain about fairness. I hear a lot of adults still complain about it!

What’s the story behind the story?

My son asked me to write him something when the Harry Potter series ended. He and I had a tradition of buying the book and seeing the movie together the very first day it came out. So when it ended not only did it limit my son’s reading but it took away something we did together. When he started reading what I wrote it kind of brought back that time for us. Then a friend of mine started reading what I wrote and suggested I publish it. It was a real exciting time for my whole family when it was published.

What is your goal as an author?

To make people think. In splitting the side of good to fight evil lets people realize how people can be passionate about the same things except have totally different ways of obtaining that. Seeing human nature at work in new settings really makes people see that maybe their ideas may not be their own but inherited and or no longer fit their beliefs or lifestyles.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I am working on a new book it is a satire of sorts on a living girl having a run in with the angel of death (love those ghost stories!) He falls in love with her as she is a real character who is kind of skidding through life causing chaos where ever she goes, which is one lure of her for him. She lives her life to the fullest with all its scrapes and bumps in the road. So when her number is up he resists which angers his father. There will be a mystery thrown in one that brings out their conflicting natures yet nurtures his feelings for her.  I love incorporating comedy into my stories I think it brings out the most interesting parts of the characters.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

J K Rowling of course! Her imagination is phenomenal and the fact the adults enjoy it as much as the kids. I also like her attention to detail is amazing she really builds on her own imagination.

Where can readers find you and your work?

I am in found in Amazon.com Barnes&Noble.com or my website http://soulmates.tateauthor.com Books a Million is also another site.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

They both have their own lure. I am probably going to go independent and self publish with my next writing project. Though having a publisher behind you can be great, but an author will always be the one marketing the book, so I think I would like more control over everything rather than have only certain avenues to explore. I would say to any new author, keep your options open, if you sign a contract you are no longer able to freely go about your business. Though getting your book in book stores is easier, remember you may just end up on internet like me, the big time authors usually get the shelf space.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“Whether you think you can or think you can’t, either way you are right.” Henry Ford

Life can be summed up to pretty much that quote. No matter what your challenge is, desire, or goal this always decides the outcome.

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Never give up! No matter what the profits are you are in it to write. Yes you will market and work the sales, the less appealing part of the equation, but in the end you are getting you work out there, which is just as satisfying as putting finishing touches on a manuscript.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

I would like to thank you for this opportunity for the interview and just wish every author success. It may not all be glamorous but it is still what you love.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit Kerry at one of her many online locations!

Her Homepage    Amazon    Barnes&Noble    Facebook    Twitter

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview – Kerry Mirza

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Nice interview, will check her book out.

Leave our authors some love...

