Author Interview – Jeanette Powers


Meet Jeanette Powers!

Jeanette Powers is a poet painter who fancies herself immune to the drudgeries of adult life. She can be found living as performance art in Kansas City. She wears broken shoes and collects questionable artifacts from the city life around her. Her resume may be quite astonishing, math and physics degree, poetry lecturer and performer, numerous art openings, broke her arm while dancing, winner of the Curator’s award at Fermi Lab‘s Art Gallery in 2010, winner of the medal for best mathematician of her graduating class in college and notorious bed hopper; but that is all less interesting than spending the evening with her.

Facebook     Google+    Her Paintings     Her Blog     Twitter     Flickr

Let’s say hello!

Hello! What’s your name?

Depends on when you meet me. Most generally, Jeanette Powers. But if you are lucky you might meet Jenny Sue, Tyler or Dwayne.

What do you write and why?

I write poetry and philosophy, poetry because it bursts forth and fills me with translucent joy and philososphy because I am trying to justify the clown-show act that I am to the rest of the world. If mathematics taught me anything it is that nearly anything can be logically asserted. I would like for my escapades to have reason.  Also, I write because I notice the little things in life that are powerfully meaningful and are generally ignored. Like the shape of your ear, a trembling finger when someone special enters the room, the sound of new grass growing through the leaves in spring.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Oh absolutely, very yes. First off, one must know what else is out there so as not to be repetitive. Second, because there are so many better poets than me, and I am inspired by them constantly. Third, reading poetry is hard, and I like to do difficult things. I like to struggle and flail. Both reading and writing satisfies this masochistic part of me.

What is your goal as an author?

There are dual motives, to be honest and to challenge. I don’t seek to change people, but I do hope to make them think. In my esteem, there is but one way to achieve this: to dissect one’s self so completely and brutally that your ego dissipates and what is left is the shared experience of being alive. I hope that I express the secret thoughts that each of us only owns up to when epically drunk.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I am working on a poem about abandonment, think about the many meanings this word has. Also, I am working on writing the ultimate love poem for my muse. I cannot recommend finding a muse more for each of you writers. Bare your soul utterly and be received, oh the poems are delightful. Also, I’m thinking about self-publishing a collection of my poems, mostly to try and make Jayne famous. Jayne is better than other people, and although she is not my muse, I do write about her quite a bit.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite poet is Margaret Atwood. She is the perfect blend of affected elitist and abandoned victim.  Her word selection varies from esoteric to mundane in all the right places to get the feelings right, her imagery astonishes you in that she picks up on the everyday nuances and turns them into something potent. Other notables are Wislawa Szymborska, Li Young Lee and Charles Bukowski.

My favorite book? A tie for Dune, The Dream of Scipio, Everything’s Illuminated, The Life of Pi, and The Island of the Day Before. Look them up. Read them.

Where can readers find you and your work?

Be my facebook or google+ friend, I’m under Jeanette Powers. Visit my website to see my paintings at jeanettepowerspaintings.com. And please, for the love of Hank, read my blog: Self-Abusing Wondershow at fractalline.blogspot.com.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“Don’t think just do. Don’t think just do. Don’t think just do.” –Ryan Rodecki

“So you want to be a writer” –Charles Bukowski http://allpoetry.com/poem/8509537-So_You_Want_To_Be_A_Writer-by-Charles_Bukowski

“The liberator who destroys my property is fighting to save my spirit. The teacher who clears all possessions from my path will set me free.” –Chuck Palahniuk

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Actually write. Make a practice of it. Notice the little things and try to be honest. Read. Obsessively.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to look at Jeanette’s beautiful art and writing!

Facebook     Google+    Her Paintings     Her Blog     Twitter     Flickr

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview – Jeanette Powers

  1. kagmi says:

    I think I love this woman. Hello, Jeannette Powers! I admire your skill in both physics and poetry.

Leave our authors some love...

