Author Interview – K.A. Laity


K. A. Laity is the author of Owl Stretching, Pelzmantel & Unikirja, a collection of short stories based on the Kalevala, Kanteletar, and other Finnish myths and legends, for which she won the 2005 Eureka Short Story Fellowship and a 2006 Finlandia Foundation grant, as well as other stories and essays. Dr. Laity teaches medieval literature, film, New Media and popular culture at the College of Saint Rose, though at present she can be found at NUI Galway on a Fulbright for the 2011-2 academic year.

Author Homepage   Second Author Homepage    Another Author Homepage    Amazon   Facebook    Twitter 

Let’s say hi!

Hello! What’s your name?

K. A. Laity

What do you write and why?

I write everything! On my website it says “all-purpose writer” and I write in all forms and genres: novels, short stories, scripts and even the occasional poem in horror, noir, romance, fantasy, comics and non-fiction as well.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I tend mostly to read non-fiction or something vastly different from whatever I’m writing.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

I’m promoting IT’S A CURSE which is the seventh title in the DRUNK ON THE MOON series started by Paul D. Brazill.

What is it about?

It’s a noir tale of a PI who happens to be a werewolf. This time Roman Dalton finds himself stuck between two women, one who wants to save him and the other – well, she’s got issues of her own.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

I think it has a little more humour than the average noir story, something that’s in keeping with Mr B’s own writing. Paul’s a funny guy.

What’s the story behind the story?

Well, I loved the first DRUNK ON THE MOON story and Mr B let me play with his toys for a while. I suppose the other chief source of inspiration was the music of The Fall, which is where I swiped the title and a few other details.

What is your goal as an author?

To write books that will be read long after I’m gone. And make lots of money so I don’t have to do anything but write.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I have a new novel coming out soon called OWL STRETCHING (Immanion Press). It’s an alt-history/ scifi/urban fantasy/road trip/retelling of the descent of Inanna if that makes any sense. If it doesn’t then I’ll just say it’s funny and was inspired by the sadness I felt when Kurt Vonnegut died and I knew there wouldn’t be any more sad, funny books coming from him.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Absolutely impossible to pick! Among my faves BEOWULF, ALICE IN WONDERLAND, BREAKFAST OF CHAMPIONS, JANE EYRE, LUCKY JIM.

Where can readers find you and your work?

Go to http://www.kalaity.com and then stop by http://www.cmkempe.com and http://www.kit-marlowe.com as well as they are me too. That’s enough reading to keep you busy for years and by then, I will have written even more.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I see no need to choose: I do both. Depends on the work and the audience. Some things have a very small audience and no publisher will be interested, but it’s good to get the work out there. I like to have a publisher handle most of the details because I’d rather be writing, but some works aren’t going to get out there any other way than if I do it myself.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“A writer never has a vacation. For a writer life consists of either writing or thinking about writing.”

~ Eugene Ionesco

What is the most important advice you can give to aspiring writers?

If you are not a reader, you will never be a good writer. The only way to become a writer is to actually do the paperwork.

Do you have anything else you’d like to say?

I’d repeat Auntie Mame’s words: live live live! Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Cheers – it was fun!

Please take a moment to visit K.A. Laity at the sites below!!

Author Homepage   Second Author Homepage    Another Author Homepage    Amazon   Facebook    Twitter

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview – K.A. Laity

  1. katelaity says:

    Thanks for hosting me — let’s get the party started!

Leave our authors some love...

