Author Interview – Suzanne Robb


Meet Suzanne Robb

Suzanne Robb is the author of Z-Boat, released by Twisted Library Press and Were-wolves, Apocalypses, and Genetic Mutation, Oh my! published by Dark Continents.. She has over 4 dozen stories in current and upcoming anthologies with various publishers.  She is also a contributing editor at Hidden Thoughts Press, and in March Wicked East Press will be releasing Read the end First, an apocalyptic anthology she edited with Adrian Chamberlin.In her free time she reads, watches movies, plays with her dog, and enjoys chocolate and LEGO’s.

Blog   Twitter   Amazon

Hello! What’s your name?

Suzanne Robb

What do you write and why?

I write short stories, novellas, and novels. As for genre, it varies greatly. I write about zombies, were-wolves, apocalypses, ghosts, thrillers, though one common theme is parody throughout.

I also love to write creative non-fiction.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

If I am working on something humorous I will read the opposite, mystery/suspense or non-fiction. I generally do this for two reasons. One is that ideas come to me that otherwise never would have in combination factors. The other is so that I am not inadvertently influenced by a similar genre.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

At the moment I am promoting: Were-wolves, Apocalypses, and Genetic Mutation, Oh My!

What is it about?

It is a novella, but really a collection of three short stories. One story, Welcome to the Future, is about a teenager who feels he has no futures. He crosses the path of a doctor who has plans for him. What happens is some genetic mutation with catastrophic results. The second story, B.I.T.E., is about a dysfunctional family trying to fend off the apocalypse, a lot of tongue in cheek humor with the horror on this one. The last story is called The Moonlight Killer, one of my favorites. It is about a man who gets bit by a wolf, and decides to bite back, once again with interesting results.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

I think that what makes it different is the heavy humor approach, and the different take on accepted mythology. I like to change things up a bit and surprise people. Sometimes this is good, others not so much.

What is your goal as an author?

My goal is to make people laugh. After that I would like to write creative non-fiction collections along the lines of David Sedaris or Chuck Klosterman.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I am working on a sequel to my first novel Z-Boat ( a suspense thriller that takes place on a submarine with zombies at the end)

After that I am working on a collaborative project with a friend about zombies. Then I would like to write another novel that takes all sorts mythological beings and plays around with reality in a fun way.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite author is Christopher Moore, and favorite book has to be Fool.

Where can readers find you and your work?

I blog HERE.
I tweet HERE.
Were-wolves, Apocalypses, and Genetic Mutation, Oh My! Is HERE.
Z-Boat is HERE.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I think self-publishing is great and many authors who are truly talented get exposure. Though on the flip side of the coin a lot of people publish things that are not edited properly or formatted correctly and this leads readers to be turned off from self-published authors or small presses.

As a result I would much rather have the backing of a publisher behind my work.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“You deserve what you tolerate.”

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Read a lot, and edit until you can’t edit anymore. Most importantly, always listen to your editor.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit Suzanne at the links below!

Blog   Twitter   Amazon

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview – Suzanne Robb

  1. Pingback: Suzanne Robb’s Were-wolves, Apocalypses and Genetic Mutations, Oh My! and Other Notes « Type AJ Negative

Leave our authors some love...

