Author Interview – Autumn Christian


Meet Autumn Christian!

Autumn Christian is a horror writer who lives in the dark woods of the southern United States with poisonous blue flowers in her backyard and a set of polished cow skulls on her mantel. 

Though she would consider her primary profession being thrown down basement steps and chained to a keyboard in a basement, she’s been a freelance writer, an iPhone game designer, a cheese producer, a haunted house actor, and a video game tester. She considers Philip K. Dick, Ray Bradbury, Katie Jane Garside, the southern gothic, and dubstep as main sources of inspiration.

Her Website   Twitter    Facebook    Goodreads    Amazon    Smashwords

Hello! What’s your name?

My name is Autumn Christian.

What do you write and why?

I write dark/horror/pseudo-romance/bizarre/surreal/speculative fiction. I’ve also been known to write stories for the occasional humorous video game.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Of course, I think most people end up writing in a particular genre because they enjoy it. I grew up throwing away Babysitter Club books and reading Goosebumps, Ray Bradbury, and anything that had a skeleton or vampire dog on the cover, really. However I don’t exclusively read in the horror genre, as it’s a bit incestuous, sort of like having an orgy and inviting your mom. Would not recommend, by the way.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

My novel The Crooked God Machine.

What is it about?

The Crooked God Machine is a dystopian horror novel by Autumn Christian. (Me)

Charles lives on the black planet, a place where plague machines terrorize citizens with swarms of locusts and rivers of blood, salesmen sell sleep in the form of brain implants, and God appears on the television every night to warn of the upcoming apocalypse. When Charles meets Leda, a woman who claims to have escaped from hell, he begins to suspect that the black planet is not at all what it appears to be. After Leda disappears, Charles sets out to find her with help from his stripper ex-girlfriend, the deadhead Jeanine. Along the way he will uncover the truth of the origins of the black planet, and discover the source of the mysterious voice that calls to Leda from the ocean waves.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

It’s blasphemous and sexy at the same time. It has strippers, salesmen who sell sleep, and if printed out comes with special bulletproof qualities. It will make all your dreams come true and get your children to behave.

What’s the story behind the story?

I was the stereotypical bitter and disillusioned youth.  I dropped out of college because I figured if I graduated with an English degree I’d be resigned to being stuck in middle school education. It seemed to me that writers wrote and writing majors taught people to write. So I moved to Oklahoma where I worked on a dairy farm for six months and in the moments when I couldn’t sleep, when I was yelling silently at God for being such an asshole, I conceived the idea for this book.

What is your goal as an author?

To buy a Cadillac that I can crash onto a sidewalk four hours later. To own a classy pair of Ray Bahns. To smoke cigarette after cigarette on every promo pic of me ever shot and miraculously not get lung cancer.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I’m always working. The book I’m currently working on editing is a lesbian demon horror romance drug novel. Also in the beginning stages of a sci-fi story about an anorexic woman who decides to undergo nanite surgery to become a bird.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite author is Philip K. Dick and my favorite book is A Scanner Darkly by the same author. It’s a sci-fi coated drug novel and one of the most human and beautiful works in existence. The movie doesn’t do it justice.

Where can readers find you and your work?

I am usually locked away in a brightly-lit computer infested hell. But you can find me at my website, on Twitter, by email at axtian@gmail.com, on Facebook and at Goodreads.

The Crooked God Machine can be found on Amazon and on Smashwords

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I think the savvy writer would have a mix of both. There’s not really a best way but one that would best suit that particular writer’s goals. Of course that’s what everyone. Publishing with a big house gets you recognition if you decide to later self-publish then you’ll already have a brand name. Self publishing from the start gives you a big ego with a faulty gun. But it can also work if you build up your name slowly.

Do you have a favorite quote?

‘What is it?’. one staff member said.

Donna said, ‘A person.’

‘Substance D?’

She nodded.

‘It ate his head. Another loser.’

She said to the two of them, ‘It’s easy to win. Anybody can win.’

– Philip K. Dick, “A Scanner Darkly.”

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

To quote John Berendt, author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil: “Always stick around for one more drink. That’s when things happen.”

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

I also have another book published by Dark Continents called A Gentle Hell, a collection of four dark and surreal stories. It can be found exclusively on Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/AGentleHellebook/dp/B006SLDFGQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1327336566&sr=8-1 .

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please pay Autumn a visit at her sites below!

Her Website   Twitter    Facebook    Goodreads    Amazon    Smashwords

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

