Author Interview – Dawn Batterbee


Meet Dawn Batterbee!

Dawn Batterbee Miller is the author of God’s Family Tree, published in 1994 by Church Growth Institute and numerous articles published world-wide in various Christian periodicals. For several years she served as editor and publisher of Women In Ministry, a denominational women’s paper. She is also a public school teacher and holds master’s degrees in education and communication arts. Dawn is uniquely equipped to write about nineteenth-century lumber camps. Having been raised in deep woods territory, she grew up steeped in family stories and the local lore of the lumberjack.

Twitter   Her Blog   Her Website   Amazon

Hello! What’s your name?

Dawn Batterbee Miller

What do you write and why?

I write novels, basically historical fiction and true life experience magazine articles.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Yes, I read  historical fiction as well as other types. Ususally fiction at present because it serves as an example, sometimes good, sometimes bad.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

Footprints Under the Pines with sequel in process, Sprouts.

What is it about?

Footprints is the story of a family that loses both home and livelihood and is forced to enter the lumber camp culture of the 1990’s.  Katherine seeks security in a rough, tough man’s culture.

Sprouts is the story of the children as they seek their own identity in a challenging environment.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

Most books about the camps are nonfiction and set in the city at the bars. This book was written specifically to invite the reader to view and to live life as a part the lumber camp environment.

What’s the story behind the story?

I was raised in lumber camp territory. My grandfather was a farmer in the summer and a lumberjack in the winter. These were people just like you and me, some were drunken rioters when they went to the cities. Some didn’t go to the city. They went home to their families.  But these men are often overlooked in favor of their more obstreperous companions.

What is your goal as an author?

I desire to bring a more balanced understanding of the culture of the Midwest lumber camp.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

Sprouts – Growing in the Stumpland. This is the story of young people who are faced with tragedy in life and who are seeking to overcome as they deal with a rigorous culture.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite authors are Jeanette Oke and John Grisham.

Where can readers find you and your work?

Footprints Under the Pines may be ordered at your local book store, or you can order on line at Amazon, Christian Books.com, dawncreations.net.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

At present I am using Winepress Publishing which bills itself as Custom Publishing. It is self-publishing that is done in traditional style. Of course I’d love to have someone else pay for the work. On the other hand, I have more control this way. I would likely try traditional publishing if it were offered.

Do you have a favorite quote?

This is the day that the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalms 118:24

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

First of all take a course or five in writing the genre you intend to write. Then when you begin to seek publication, go to writing conferences. It’s expensive but that is where you meet agents and publishers. It’s also where you learn the ins and outs of the industry.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish?

Comments and Notes of Encouragement Regarding Footprints Under the Pines

From School Librarian: That book should be required reading for schools. [because of the historical information it contains]

From Worker at Lumber Camp Museum: “That’s a good book!”

From Daughter’s Friend: Please forgive my delay in sending you a note to thank you for the wonderful book you sent to me. I am an avid reader and I most enjoy fact based books about women in the pioneer days. So your mother’s work was perfect for me. I was very impressed with her writing, and once I picked up the book I could hardly put it down. I actually put aside a book I was in the middle of tha read “Footprints” straight through.

From Delores at torchlake.com: I just finished reading FOOTSTEPS UNDER THE PINES and I loved it. I couldn’t put it down and read it in 2 days time. My grandma used to tell me lumber camp stories. Several of my relatives worked in them, and we have pictures of some of them. In fact, we have a picture just like the one described in the book of the big load of logs and the men posed around it.

Little footnote: I got so used to folks saying, “I couldn’t put it down.” that one time someone said. “I liked your book.” and I almost felt let down, You mean you could put it down?

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to vist Dawn at the links below!
Twitter   Her Blog   Her Website   Amazon

View “Footprints Under the Pines” Book trailer!

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview – Dawn Batterbee

Leave our authors some love...

