Author Interview – Wendy Vanhatten


Meet Wendy VanHatten!

Wendy VanHatten left the corporate world and became a professional freelance writer and editor, assisting authors with their manuscripts. Wendy understands what it takes to get from the blank page to the finished product, as she is a published author of several books. Being an international travel writer, she knows the joy of discovering her articles in a world-wide market. Wendy offers a strong writing and editing background, including speaking engagements and workshops to her clients.

Her writing website, www.vhwritingservices.com, details her writing services. She edits for a regional health and wellness magazine, SolanoFit, writes articles for a variety of magazines and blogs for The Reporter in Vacaville, CA. Wendy has taught courses at the college level regarding health care administration, career writing, effective communication, success for women, goal setting, and writing as a career.

Her Editing Service    Her Homepage    Amazon    Facebook    Twitter

Hello! What’s your name?

Wendy VanHatten

What do you write and why?

I have written articles…travel, health related, and women in business related. I have written short stories…humor, non-fiction about our son and Iraq, non-fiction about women and success, children’s, and fiction ones.

Why I write…I enjoy it, in some cases I have a story to tell, and it is an outlet for my other businesses of editing and conducting writing workshops.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Yes, as I read many things. I do not read only the genre in which I write, however.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

Two books…

When the Cat Speaks…Listen, a Purr-fectly Good Way to Enjoy Life

My Life the Sequel: A Girlfriend’s Guide to Personal Success

What is it about?

When the Cat Speaks is about looking at the simple things in life and enjoying them. You do not need to be a cat lover to enjoy reading about how cats really do live life to the fullest. Naps, sunshine, and friends are important to cats…and us as well.

My Life is about being busy as women…moms, entrepreneurs, etc. Find the time for you…this will get you started.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

When the Cat Speaks is different as it is written from my cat’s point of view…

My Life is different in that the reader will gain insight, worksheets, ideas, and helpful “do now” lists to use in their life. This is from a “been there…done that” perspective.

What’s the story behind the story?

When the Cat Speaks was inspired by my office supervisor…my cat. It’s easy to watch him and find a way to enjoy what I’m doing.

My Life was inspired by my friend and I who had conducted “life” workshops. We decided to turn our workshop into a book where readers can pick and choose the part that fits their life at the moment.

What is your goal as an author?

To write more…write a series of children’s books…write a book about my dad and WWII.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I have started a series of children’s books. They involve lessons being taught to children by a character, quite possibly my cat. Things such as please and thank you, bullying, lying, listening, etc. are covered in a positive yet meaningful way. It is for ages 4 to 8 and includes lessons that age group can read with some assistance. It is illustrated to be child friendly.

I am also working on a book about Dad and WWII. As a little girl Dad would bring out a box of “stuff” he had from his time in the service, Italy, N. Africa, etc. He would tell stories if I encouraged him. Mom did not like him to do so. After he died, I found the box hidden in a back closet and opened it up. This book is fiction based on facts as I remember some stories all the way through and some I remember only partly. This includes some facts from where his unit was during the war but is not completely about that. It is more about the box and the surprise I found in it.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Tough one…

I like so many authors and books. Jack Canfield and The Success Principles, Young and The Shack, E. Richards and Sunset Bridge. The list goes on and on depending on what pops into my mind!

Where can readers find you and your work?

Amazon and directly through me at wvanhatten@gmail.com

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

Both are viable in my opinion. I truly believe self publishing is the way to go for first time authors but only if they have their works edited. Self publishing has a better reputation that it once did. Having said that, you still need to research to see what is right for you and to get the right company. Traditional publishing definitely has its merits and should be considered by published authors.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“I haven’t been everywhere, but it is on my list.” – Susan Sontag

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Develop a writing schedule, take a workshop, write as often as possible, and get your work edited. Keep writing.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Writing, in most forms, is a great way to keep in touch with the world. I enjoy writing and enjoy helping others with their writing.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit Wendy at the links below!
Her Editing Service    Her Homepage    Amazon    Facebook    Twitter


About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

