Author Interview – Cecilia Robert


Cecilia RobertMeet Cecilia Robert!

Cecilia Robert lives in Vienna, Austria. She is a dreamer, enjoys creating worlds using words and imagination , and loves escaping into them. Cecilia enjoys the play and weave of words that make up a good story.  In the midst of those worlds, is always a prince, a princess, a pirate, a normal, or  badass boy  or girl just waiting to guide her through these fantastical lands.

Her novel, a contemporary romance ‘Truly, Madly, Deeply, You’ will be published by Inkspell Publishing in March 2012.

Some nights, you can find her reading Puss in Boots to her daughter, or trying to understand how to read Manga comics from her son.

She is currently working on a YA Dark fantasy, Reaper’s Novice, and having fun while at it.

Her Blog    Facebook    Twitter    Goodreads

Hello! What’s your name?

Hi, my name is Cecilia Robert (Pen name)

What do you write and why?

I write contemporary romance, paranormal, fantasy, a bit of sci-fi. It’s the genre I read mostly, therefore I find myself more comfortable writing it.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I read different genres, as well as write different genres. All these genres I read in have influenced my writing, and I enjoy expanding my horizons. Each genre has a different flavour, and I love different flavours when it comes to reading and writing.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

Truly. Madly. Deeply. You.Right now I’m promoting my contemporary romance novella Truly, Madly, Deeply, You which will be published and released by Inkspell Publishing on March 21st, 2012

What is it about?

The story is about two people, two best friends who have known one another since they were kids. One is going through a difficult time in her life, while the other is hopelessly in love with his friend and will do anything to take away her pain. It’s a ‘Friends to lovers’ story, as well as second chance at love.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

Truly, Madly, Deeply You is more about the characters and less plot. In my other WIPs, the stories are both plot and character driven. When I first sat down to write this story, I decided to concentrate on the characters, and their relationship.

What’s the story behind the story?

I was inspired by a couple who I visited in their home during my home visits – I work as an assistant nurse. The man was 93 years and his wife 88, and while I sat there listening to them, telling me how they were best friends even before they got married, my mind wandered and began weaving a story: a friends to lovers story. Only in mine, the male harbors feelings for his female friend, but she has no idea how he feels.

What is your goal as an author?

My goal as an author is, first and foremost to have fun creating my own story. I believe it’s only when you create something you love, you’ll pour those feelings in the story and others will love it as well. My hope is to inspire anyone who reads my work.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

Yes. Currently I am working on two projects. A Young Adult dark fantasy – It’s about a girl who trades her soul for the four souls of her family in order to save them, and becomes the Reaper’s Novice. After two years of Novicehood, Grim (who prefers to be called Ernest) decides to test her. If she passes the tests, then her family’s souls are off the proverbial hook. But then, you know how these things go. 🙂

The second one is a Middle Grade fantasy/Sci fi about a boy who, upon her sister’s insistence, visits a local fortune teller, and from there everything takes a whole new meaning to the word weird and dangerous. He is transported to different dimensions. The only way for him to come back home is by completing three tests, and two of those will test his love for his family and friends. It’s a fun story to write.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My book tastes are eclectic, and my favourite author and book, keep changing. From the top of my head I’ll say Nalini Singh – because I’m reading her Psy series. I enjoy her style. She weaves a story (mostly paranormal –the ones I’ve read) full of danger, romance, suspense. She knows how to put her characters through the wringer, and have the reader rooting for them all the way to the end of the book.

Where can readers find you and your work?

I can be found at:

My Blog
Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

Unfortunately, I can’t comment on that as I don’t have much experience in publishing. I do believe both have their own pros and cons.

Do you have a favorite quote? 

Yes, I do. There is a Swahili saying that goes: Hurry, Hurry has no blessings.

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

First, the usual. Read in many genres, and as much as you can. It does help in finding your own writing style, discovering what you like and what you don’t.

Join a critique group. This helps both in your writing and for support purposes.

Research: It would be embarrassing to have a very well thought and written story, but the facts are all wrong. Do your homework, before submitting to the ‘teacher’.

Never let anyone tell you , you can’t make it as a writer. You can and you will. It’s difficult but others have been there and done that. Just needs a little bit of patience – well, a lot – and elbow grease to get that manuscript finished. Get your work edited before publishing. Yes, it’s expensive, but worth it. Your story might be like the next best thing to chocolate, a trendsetter even, but if it isn’t polished, and keeps pulling the reader out of it, it can be disastrous.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

I’d like to thank you for interviewing me on your awesome website. It was a real pleasure to share my passion for writing. And also let you know that you are doing a great job with promoting authors. Thank you. 🙂

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visist Cecilia at the links below!

Her Blog    Facebook    Twitter    Goodreads

…or Pre-Order her book!

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview – Cecilia Robert

  1. CeCe says:

    Hey Lisa,

    Thanks again for interviewing me on your blog. It was fun, wasn’t it? 🙂

    Cheers
    Cece

Leave our authors some love...

