Author Interview – George L. Cook III


Meet George L. Cook III!

– Attended Virginia State Univerity ( HBCU )
– Member US Army/ NJ National Gaurd 1991-1994.
– 2004 wrote first book Let’s Talk Honestly and launched the web site letstalkhonestly.com which lasted until May 2010.
– Volunteer basketball and football coach at local rec center. ( Won flag football championship in 2005, basketball championship in 2009 )
– Member of Hillside Scholarship Fund since 2008
– Boy Scout Troop Committee Chairman of Cubpack 97.
– Appointed to Hillside NJ Board of Education in June 0f 2009.
– Won election to keep BOE seat in April of 2010, named vice president of The Hillside Board of Education.
– On May 2, 2011 George cook was elected President of the Hillside Board of Education.

Facebook   Twitter   Amazon

Hello! What’s your name?

George L. Cook III

What do you write and why?

I write poetry , science fiction, and horror.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I read everything except romance. Biographies, horror, history, science fiction, I read them all.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

My latest book is a science fiction / horror / action adventure titled The Dead War Series Book 1

What is it about?

The Dead War Series

In the year 2053 the dead walked. Mankind was caught off guard at first but within six years mounted a massive military assault on the dead.

These are the stories of some of those men and women that fought back. These are the stories of some trying to find a “cure”. These are the stories of those that are just trying to survive the nightmare of the walking dead. These are the stories of those that caused The Dead War.

This book contains the first chapter of The Dead War Series which features the hero of the series, Sergeant Richards . It also contains three short stories that explain certain elements of The Dead War World.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

The book takes a look at the zombie apocalypse from the military’s perspective. It deals with the soldiers on the ground and the choices they have to make to stay alive and to save others. It is also more action oriented than other zombie / walking dead books that focus more on the gore and horror aspects on the genre.

What’s the story behind the story?

I was going to write a military science fiction book anyway and while surfing online I read about all the hoopla of AMC’s The Walking Dead returning to the air. I love the show and decided that the walking dead would be the bad guys in the story. As I wrote I began to realize that the dead may not be man kinds worst enemy.

What is your goal as an author?

To write and write some more. Do I want to be successful in a financial sense as a writer? Of course but if I can just entertain a few people and build up my own audience I would be extremely happy with that.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I am working on The Dead War Series Book 2. What I can tell you is that a character introduced in one of the short stories will show up and go head to head with the series hero Sergeant Richards. As I wrote earlier the dead may not be man kinds worst enemy.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite author would be Stephen King and my favorite book would be The Stand.

Where can readers find you and your work?

Link to book on Amazon
Dead War Series Twitter Page
Facebook Page

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I’m not going to lie. From the perspective of getting your book out there and marketing nothing can compete with traditional publishing in my opinion. That being said I love the freedom of self-publishing and I prefer to self publish. I can get my work out there a lot quicker and not have to worry about dead lines and contractual obligations. Self-publishing is for me.

Do you have a favorite quote?

Homer Simpson: Find out what you are not good at and don’t do it.

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

WRITE! Keep writing and don’t let anything get you down or hold you back. There will be negative reviews and harsh criticism but that comes with the territory. Learn to take criticism and use it to make you a better writer.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Thank you for giving me this opportunity and thanks to the readers who support me. I appreciate you.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit George at the links below!

Facebook   Twitter   Amazon

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

