Author Interview – Christian Warren Freed


Meet Christian Freed!

Christian W. Freed was born in Buffalo, N.Y. He recently retired from a twenty year career in the U.S. Army. Armies of the Silver Mage is his first book for sale and was written during his tour of duty in Afghanistan. He currently lives outside of Raleigh, N.C. and devotes his time to writing and to his family and their two Bernese Mountain Dogs.

Find him at: His Blog    Facebook    Twitter    Amazon    B&N

Hello! What’s your name?

Christian W. Freed

What do you write and why?

I write military sci-fi and fantasy, though I have been known to dabble in children’s stories. I’m not sure why I write, but it has been a lifelong pursuit.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I think that as an author we have a responsibility to read the genre we write in. Otherwise our work would be terribly ineffective and not quite entertaining.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

Armies of the Silver Mage is my first book being published though far from the first I have written.

What is it about?

Armies of the Silver Mage is a traditional fantasy twisted with myth. Malweir is a world filled with mystery and hidden peril. It is a land struggling to recover from the horrors of a devastating war. Hope often clashes with shadows as a host of races tries to rebuild and put the bitter memories behind them. The gods of light and dark contend for dominance through the will of mortals. Armies of the Silver Mage is a tale beginning long after the end of the war, but all is not well. A dark power once thought defeated is stirring in the eastern land of Gren. The last surviving mage has rebuilt his strength and is preparing to make his war on the land. Only a small band of reluctant heroes have the ability to stop him.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

I have incorporated real world combat experience and tactics into a medieval setting, enhancing the characters and battle sequences. I would like to think that my personal experiences in multiple war zones over the last 20 years give me an edge when it comes to writing combat scenes.

What’s the story behind the story?

I wrote Armies of the Silver Mage when I was deployed to Afghanistan in 2002. It is the first novel set in the mythical world of Malweir. It is the product of many long nights looking up into a pitch black sky and wondering ‘what if’

What is your goal as an author?

My goal is simple. I want to make people happy when they read my work. There is nothing quite so satisfying as knowing that the reader feels good about a story when he/she puts the finished book down.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I have wrapped up the first draft of a sci-fi epic called Dreams of Winter. Humanity is alone. The gods have destroyed each other in a war that threatened to undo the fabric of the universe. Out of the ashes humanity evolves under the rigid guidance of the Conclave; an order of holy men seeking to bring back the glory of the time of the gods. Together with the Order of the Inquisition and their Prekhauten Guard divisions the Conclave tries to maintain the peace on over seven hundred worlds with the compassion and wisdom the gods once offered. But a terrible secret, known only to the most powerful, threatens to undo three millennia of progress. The gods are not dead at all. They merely sleep. And they are being hunted.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

I find that I am a man of very few favorites. I really enjoy reading Steve Erickson and Ian Esslemont as well as Terry Goodkind and the late David Gemmell. Much of my inspiration comes from old Edgar Rice Burroughs and Robert E. Howard stories.

Where can readers find you and your work?

Right now I am on Facebook and rambling away on Twitter.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I originally self-published Armies on Nook and Kindle and had moderate success. Charles Towne Publishing decided to pick up the book and put it into print. I would prefer to go mainstream publishing but we have to recognize the publishing world has changed dramatically. Borders went under because they underestimated the e-book. We, as authors, need to adapt to the current situation if we have a chance of being successful.

Do you have a favorite quote?

My favorite quote comes from the Chronicles of Riddick. “If you can’t keep up don’t step up.” Not sure why, but that just motivates me to do better.

What is the most important advice you can give to aspiring writers?

Read what you write. Write everyday and don’t give up. Good things will happen.

Do you have anything else you’d like to say?

Nope. Seriously, thank you for the opportunity to share my little piece of the world. I truly appreciate it and look forward to seeing new readers out there.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit Christian at the links below!

His Blog    Facebook    Twitter    Amazon    B&N

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

