Author Interview – E.W. Soper


Meet E.W. Soper!

E.W. Soper is the author of the YA Fantasy series, Technically Heroic.  Using self-publication methods, he published his first book at the early age of 17.  He pursues a variety of other skills, including web design, video production, and Adobe Photoshop.

Find him on: Facebook   His Website   Amazon

Hello! What’s your name?

Hi, I’m E.W. Soper, it’s great to be here!

What do you write and why?

I write young adult (YA)fantasy novels. I find it fun to envision myself as the characters I write about, which makes writing more like a personal adventure.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Usually. I kind of read my books now with my ears: audiobooks are so convenient! I like fantasy because it gives characters the ability to do things that we simply can’t, and to me it’s enjoyable to envision fantastic worlds and scenarios.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

The title I’m promoting is ‘Technically Heroic‘, the first in a trilogy of the same name.

What is it about?

It’s about how the furious battle of wits and technology between the heroic Devastators and the evil Valcaraz begins. This book covers several years in a short amount of time and serves as an exciting preface to the rest of the series.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

I think it differs in the fact that it follows the lead characters from their early stages on into adulthood, in which a lot of the story takes place.

What’s the story behind the story?

Ah, this is an interesting story. The book is actually a way more advanced form of a stick-figure crayon comic strip I drew for a while when I was much younger. Those were initially inspired by watching a man on TV fly into a NASCAR pre-race ceremony many years ago. Amazing how that all worked out, isn’t it?

What is your goal as an author?

Well, it would be really cool to have my books made into a motion picture, but I could maybe settle for seeing it on the shelves of Barnes & Noble.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

Haha, best question yet! I’m working on the second book in the ‘Technically Heroic’ series, and it’s going to be really cool. What happens when the tech-savvy Devastators find an otherworldly power source? Well, you’ll have to read the book to find out!

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

You know, I don’t really have a favorite, although I enjoy reading Rick Riordan‘s writing; Percy Jackson, Heroes of Olympus, barely related to my own writing but still very enjoyable.

Where can readers find you and your work?

Almost anywhere online! It’s available for Nook, Kindle, Apple devices, and as a paperback on Lulu.com and Amazon.com. You can find direct links to all of the available channels on my website.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

Getting one’s work published and available to anyone is an amazing feeling, and both methods have their ups and downs. Self-publication is a good way for you to start out if you’re on a really, really tight budget, and I’ve put a lot of my experiences to that effect on my blog for everyone to learn from. Now traditional publication methods have their advantages as well, such as big-name publishing houses with the means to promote your books. I’m not exactly sure how traditional publishing works, since I’ve not gone that route yet, so I’m no authority on this topic. However, I think it’s safe to say that for a young author starting out with practically no budget, self-publication is a great option.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results” ~ Albert Einstein

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Love your writing. Let it take you over to the point where it seeps into your dreams at night. Write, then write something else, then go back and re-read and revise your first writing. Take a break and when you go back you’ll have more of a reader’s mindset as you rediscover your story. This will allow you to spot errors as a reader might spot them.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Writing can be an awesome adventure, you just need to pursue it, and not necessarily with publishing in mind. Worry about the story and publishing will come later. If you need inspiration, check out my website and my books!
http://www.sopoweredproductions.com

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

My pleasure, thanks to you as well.

Please take a moment to visit E.W. at the links below!

His Website   Facebook   Amazon

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Author Interview – E.W. Soper

  1. Pingback: Author Interview on Writer’s Block Party! « Technically Heroic

Leave our authors some love...

