Author Interview – Ricky McGentleman


Meet Ricky McGentleman!

Ricky McGentleman is one of the editors working on “Live Life: The Daydreamer’s Journal” an anthology of short stories and poetry from writers around the world, with the profits going to raise money for The American Cancer Society.

Please take a moment to visit Live Life’s Website!

 

Hello! What’s your name?

Hi! My name is Sir Ricky McGentleman.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

The title I am promoting is Live Life: The Daydreamer’s Journal.

What is it about?

Live Life: The Daydreamer’s Journal is an anthology of short stories and poetry from authors around the world, with the royalties going to benefit cancer research. There are over 150 authors and artists that have come together for this anthology. Some of the contributors include award winning authors: Rita Dove, Gwyneth Jones, David Brin, Judith Skillman, Marv Wolfman, and Marilyn L. Taylor.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

What makes Live Life: The Daydreamer’s Journal different from other anthologies is the variety. There are stories and poetry from all different genres, themes, and styles. The authors range from United States Poet Laureate Rita Dove to comic book legend Marv Wolfman.

What inspired you to create your book?

I have always loved hearing and reading stories. Stories have the great ability to entertain us, teach us, and inspire us. Stories allow you to transcend the limits of reality and make anything you dream up possible. That is I why I first became interested in writing. I have done work for a variety of books ranging from photo journalism to folklore of Ireland. But the one thing I always wanted to do was to create something that combined my passion for stories and my desire to make a difference in the world.

What is your goal as an author?

My goal as an author is to express myself and entertain the reader at the same time.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite author would have to be Kathryn Lasky. I really enjoyed her series Guardians of Ga’Hoole when I was younger. My favorite book would have to be The Book of Five Rings by Miyamoto Musashi.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I have done both traditional publishing and self-publishing. I think it is really a personal preference for each author. I have to give the edge to self-publishing though. Even though it is a lot more work marketing wise, I prefer the control and speed of self-publishing.  

Do you have a favorite quote?

My favorite quote is “Follow your heart no matter what” -anonymous

What is the most important advice you can give to aspiring writers?

I know it has been said a lot, but write every day and read as much as you can. The more you write and read the more your writing will improve.

Do you have anything else you’d like to say?

I would like to thank you kindly for interviewing me! Also If anyone is looking for a great collection of short stories and poetry that goes to benefit good cause check out Live Life: The Daydreamer’s Journal available the first week in May 2012 at Amazon and Barnes & Noble. For more information about the anthology you can check out www.livelifethedaydreamersjournal.com

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit Live Life’s Website!

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Author Interview – Ricky McGentleman

  1. Cool Interview. I was looking for info about Ricky McGentleman and landed at this page. Nice work on the interview. 🙂

Leave our authors some love...

