Useful Writing Tools!


Well hello there beautiful blog followers! (beautiful describing the followers, not the blog…any editors out there that can help me with ambiguity problems!? :/ )

Due to some unforeseen circumstances, the interview scheduled for today has been delayed, so I’m here to share some useful tools that I’ve discovered around the webs.

Edit Minion

This little gem makes my life so much easier! Now, this obviously cannot replace a pair of human eyes looking at your work – but this is a great little tool that you can use as you write to keep out those pesky adverbs, passive verbs, and common misspellings. Just copy and paste a chapter in and it’ll point out for you six common editing problems so you can easily go back and re-write where necessary. I do this every time I write a new section.

Write or Die

This is single-handedly the most effective solution I have found to procrastination. Write or die is a strict little program that metaphorically slaps your wrist when you stop writing. It doesn’t matter what you write…just that you don’t stop! There are different settings, but basically you choose how long you need to write and it times you. Every time you stop for more than a certain amount of seconds, the screen will go red to warn you. If you don’t start typing again within a couple seconds, cover your ears! Your speakers will emit the most horrific screeching sound. Or, if you’re feeling particularly brave, try kamikaze mode! If you stop writing for too long, the program starts erasing what you wrote! Aagh!! Extremely useful for those slumps of writer’s block or procrastination where you just can’t seem to get the words out.

The 18 Most Popular Articles From Writer’s Digest 2011

They know writers read their magazine. They also know you don’t want to search a year’s worth of magazines to get the latest writing tips. That’s why Writer’s Digest has published the 18 most popular articles for writers! There’s some fantastic information here, folks. Don’t let it go to waste.

WriteWay

Yes, you can write a novel with just a word processor. Yes many people do. But this jewel is not that expensive, and my GOODNESS is it helpful! Keep notecards for every scene detailing characters, relationships, current conflicts, and tons more. Split your manuscript into acts, chapters and scenes, each with their own description of what’s going on. Keep separate character profiles, analyze your words written per day, edit your work, and the program will even format it for you to send straight to the publisher or self-publish on your own! I’ve only touched on all the things this program can do, but check it out for yourself. There are plenty of tutorials on the site.

I hope these tools give you writers some new help or ideas. These things have made writing my current project, Crystallized, so much easier. And, because I’m so thankful to those authors who showed these things to me, I hope I can pay it forward here. Enjoy, authors!

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Writing Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Useful Writing Tools!

  1. I absolutely ADORED Write or Die during NaNoWriMo. =) It is probably the biggest key to my current success. I can’t wait to try out Edit Minion, and for the record, I’m bookmarking the Writer’s Digest!
    I use Scrivener instead of WriteWay, and I’ve fallen in love with it. I think it might have spoiled me a little.
    Thank you so much for another great post!

    • Lisa Taylor says:

      I’ve heard great things about Scrivener too, I’m guessing they are pretty much the same thing 🙂 I hope you get some use out of Edit Minion and the Writer’s Digest articles!

      Thanks for commenting 😀

      Lisa

  2. Edit Minion looks great. Let’s you see where you might need to improve a piece. Of course, most of us are really okay with ‘said’ replacements—as long as they aren’t silly or overdone 😉

    • Lisa Taylor says:

      Haha I usually pay less attention to the said replacements than the others, but if you did overdo them, this is one way to find out! Hope you get some use out of edit minion 🙂

      Thanks for commenting! 😀

      Lisa

  3. Trev says:

    Reblogged this on freeliteraturestuff and commented:
    Good resources!

  4. I use Scrivener, and it’s pretty neat. But the Write or Die sounds neat. Perhaps a modified version could threaten a writer physically unless he kept writing. That would work for me!

Leave our authors some love...

