Author Interview – Vincent Casale


For the chance to win a FREE print copy of the Coparazzi, please leave a comment on this post with your email address! This giveaway will be closed to entries at May 12 at 3 PM. Winners will be selected at random within the next 24 hours.

Meet Vincent Casale!

Vincent is a retired New York City Police Officer who did twenty years of service from 1984-2004. During that time he worked in the NYPD’s Movie Unit from 1989-1992. Vincent has always been a movie fanatic from the time he was a child. He resides on Long Island N.Y. Now he is fulfilling a dream of becoming a writer. Vincent is a member of the Long Island Writers Guild as well as The Italian American Writers Association.

Please take a moment to visit Vincent at the following links:  Amazon    His Blog    His Website

Hello! What’s your name?

Vincent Casale

What do you write and why?

I love both memoir and fiction. My first book is a memoir because it was something I started some time ago and was familiar with the material. I write because it is the one true avenue I have to myself. To tell a story for better or worse.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I do, because biographies interest me, depending on the person of course.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

THE COPARAZZI

What is it about?

I am a retired NYPD Officer and during the early 1990‘s I was assigned to the jobs Movie Unit where we protected and assisted production companies filming in N.Y. So basically it is about the NYPD meets Hollywood. The story, my story is also sprinkled with celebrity obsession.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

I think the book is different on two levels. First it is not the same as the usual cop book filled with good guys and bad. There is a blend of the entertainment world between the pages.

What’s the story behind the story?

Again, the story behind the story is my own personal love for the movies because when I was young I wanted to be an actor. Being so close to the world of celebrity was a big thrill for me.

What is your goal as an author?

I try not to think of a long term goal because of the fear of failure but I do want to get my name out and hope folks enjoy my writing so that I can work on my next project.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I am currently working slowly on a work of fiction. This story will be about young rookie cops who thrive on the hedonistic lifestyle more than their police work.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite author is Mario Puzo and The Godfather. I was entranced by the whole family of The Godfather from the very start.

Where can readers find you and your work?

Right now the book is available on Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble.com. It will soon be available on Kindle and I’m hoping a local independent bookstore.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

Of course I think every writer would prefer a traditional publishing house, but the reality, because of the way the publishing business is now, seems to be bleak. However, if the writer has a good marketing plan and does not want to wait literally forever then self publishing could at least produce their work.

Do you have a favorite quote?

Dare to believe for thy will be done.

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Be prepared for very hard work. Rewriting and the editing process can be extremely daunting especially since one might feel their work is truly never finished. Marketing can be even tougher because now you have to sell yourself outside of family and friends.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

I would like to tell all writers, best of luck. Also there are people and blogs, such as yourself, that really are willing to help. Don’t feel alone, join local writers groups and the like, they can be very supportive.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit Vincent at the following links:

Amazon    His Blog    His Website

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Author Interview – Vincent Casale

  1. lubnafromindia says:

    Wow, I didn’t realise that there would be a separate police department for this purpose. I reside in the land of Bollywood, in Mumbai, India and I doubt we have a separate police dept to assist during the movie shootings. If there was lots of people would be vying for a placement in this department, despite it being a different kind fo challenge. Guess, you do have lots of interesting stories, VIncent.
    lukathewriter (at) gmail (dot) com

Leave our authors some love...

