Author Interview – Pavarti K. Tyler


Meet Pavarti K. Tyler!

Pavarti K Tyler is an artist, wife, mother and number cruncher. She graduated from Smith College in 1999 with a degree in Theatre. After graduation, she moved to New York, where she worked as a Dramaturge, Assistant Director and Production Manager on productions both on and off Broadway.

Later, Pavarti went to work in the finance industry as a freelance accountant for several international law firms.  She now operates her own accounting firm in the Washington DC area, where she lives with her husband, two daughters and two terrible dogs.  When not preparing taxes, she is hard at work as the Director of Publicity at Novel Publicity and penning her next novel.

Her Website   Amazon   Tumblr (18+ only)   Facebook   Twitter   Goodreads   Google+

Hello! What’s your name?

My name is Pavarti K Tyler.  It’s actually a pen name I have been using since 1998.  Back then when I set up my first email on excite.com Pavarti seemed natural since that’s the name I used for online gaming.  It stuck and when it came time to publish I realized that while my real life friend knew about Pavarti my online friends didn’t know my real name!

What do you write and why? 

I write a little bit of everything.  I’m not very good at staying inside the lines.  I’d say most of what I write is Lyrical Fiction (if such a thing exists).  I have written Erotic Horror, Fantasy Romance, Literary Fiction, Magical Realism and am working on a Zombie piece right now.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I read just about anything.  I’m not a big fan of YA, mostly because I’m a grown up and I don’t have a lot of patience for stories that stop short of the full human experience.  There are the few exceptional YA pieces that I enjoy though.  For the most part I like anything with a good yarn, something surprising and unexpected.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

Right now I am promoting Shadow on the WallIt is a literary fiction piece centering around a Muslim Superhero.  It’s dark and unlike anything else out there.  I really hope your readers enjoy it!

What is it about?

“Controversial and daring, Shadow on the Wall details the transformation of Recai Osman from complicated man to Superhero. Forced to witness the cruelty of the Morality Police in his home city of Elih, Turkey, Recai is called upon by the power of the desert to be the vehicle of change. Does he have the strength to answer Allah’s call or will his dark past and self doubt stand in his way?”

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

Shadow on the Wall is a darker story than most literary fiction novels are willing to go.  Instead of glossing over or alluding to the issues of violence, injustice and misogyny which occur in some Middle Eastern Cultures I dive right in.  Hopefully readers will be able to see that despite the corruption I explore the beauty of the Islamic Faith maintains for our hero.

What’s the story behind the story?

A friend of mine, a talented writer in his own right, sent out a challenge to his blog readers to write a Middle Eastern Superhero story.  It was intended as just a gaff which took on a life of it’s own.  After writing about 5,000 words I realized I was no where near done and needed to keep going.  This was a story I needed to tell.

What is your goal as an author?

To entertain, to surprise, to titillate and perhaps inspire readers to rethink their perceptions of the world.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I have a serial Novel “Two Moons of Sera” that I have been working on for a while.  Volumes 1 and 2 are already out, with Volume 3 scheduled to release in June.  After that I have a few things up my sleeves, a zombie story DEVOUR, a fantasy romance Heaven’s Vault and book two of The SandStorm Chronicles Prisoner’s of the Wind.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite author is Anais Nin.  She manages to embrase both the beauty and insanity of the world in her work, something I find freeing.  My favorite book changes from week to week.  Right now I’m particularly partial to Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein.  A word of warning though, if you’re going to read it, only bother with the uncut version, the originally published version leaves out the most important parts.

Where can readers find you and your work?

My website and blog

My tumblr is 18+ only

Facebook Fanpage

Twitter Feed

Google+ is still a mystery

Goodreads

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I think both have merit.  There’s a lot to be said for forging your own path and a lot that the traditional route still has to offer.  I think the issue these days is what does each have to offer.  We are no longer beholden to the agency model of publishing and can decide for ourselves what the trade off in royalties and creative control are worth.  For me, I enjoy going it alone.  I’m an entrepreneur by nature and this path feels natural and rewarding.  For me to go with a publisher I’d need to know that the benefit would outweigh what I was giving up.

Do you have a favorite quote?

I am an excitable person who only understands life lyrically, musically, in whom feelings are much stronger as reason. I am so thirsty for the marvelous that only the marvelous has power over me. Anything I can not transform into something marvelous, I let go. Reality doesn’t impress me. I only believe in intoxication, in ecstasy, and when ordinary life shackles me, I escape, one way or another. No more walls.” 
― 
Anaïs Nin

What is the most important advice you can give to aspiring writers?

Shut up, stop complaining.  All you need to do is write and smile.  The drama of the self-publishing world is only a time suck.  Surround yourself with positive and supportive people and follow your dream.  That and get a professional editor.  It’s worth every penny.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Thanks so much for having me on your site!  It was lovely to meet you!

Don’t forget to visit Pavarti at these links, or view her book trailer below!

Her Website   Amazon   Tumblr (18+ only)   Facebook   Twitter   Goodreads   Google+

This interview is part of Pavarti Tyler’s Orangeberry Book Tour. To view the tour’s complete schedule, click here.

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Author Interview – Pavarti K. Tyler

  1. Thanks so much for hosting me on your blog! I really enjoyed rereading the interview. I hope your readers enjoy hearing about Shadow on the Wall!
    Pav

  2. Tracey says:

    Hi Pav! Great interview, Lisa. 🙂

  3. bn100 says:

    I enjoyed the interview. Thanks for sharing more about the book.

  4. Pingback: “Genre Phobia” by Pavarti K. Tyler | Writer's Block Party!

Leave our authors some love...

