Book Review – Storm of Arranon by R.E. Sheahan


Storm of Arranon by R.E. Sheahan


This book was given to me free of charge by the author or publisher in exchange for an honest review. This review may be quoted in whole or part without my express permission as long as “Lisa Taylor” or “Writer’s Block Party” is credited with a link to this post. 

Back Cover Description:

Beneath Erynn’s petite build lies a deeply hidden secret. If the truth about her were revealed, her life would be in danger. Her dream to be a fighter pilot would tailspin, crash, and burst into flames.

Jaer radiates a smoldering strength. Charismatic and moody, he is a physically powerful warrior who defends his world. A warrior afraid to love.

When a marauding alien society is discovered on their planets, a struggle of life and death begins. Erynn and Jaer’s worlds face annihilation.

A mysterious force plunges Erynn into Jaer’s cold, dangerous, and beautiful world with its magical essence and living consciousness. Both the alien enemy and this strange inexplicable power pursue Erynn.

With the death toll mounting, Erynn is thrust into the battle. Her responsibility extends far beyond what she ever imagined. Her secret may be their worlds’ only hope. But using her abilities may cost Erynn her life. When her feelings for Jaer intensify, Erynn hopes to survive the storm and break through that hard, cold exterior to the fire of a warrior’s love.
__________________________________________________________

Review:

At first glance, I really loved the look of this book. The cover is a bit cluttered, but the typography of the title is beautiful and the description sounded like an exciting and unique story.

The beginning starts off full of action. When I first started reading, I told my sister, “this is going to be one of those books I can’t put down.” The author gives just enough history in the beginning so that the reader understands what is going on, but splits it up among exciting action scenes.  At first, the main character’s powers were hard to understand, but later the reader realizes why her powers seemed strange and undeveloped…because they were!

The main character grows a lot during the story. She finds she’s capable of things she never imagined, and I really liked that. I also like that the romance of the story wasn’t the main focus of the book, though sometimes I wondered where it came from.  It took most of the book for me to get a grasp on the relationships between Erynn and the other characters. I feel like the author was trying to put in a little bit of everything to attract a wider audience…and nothing wrong with that! This is a book that girls, boys, men and women can all enjoy.

The reading did slow down some for me in the middle. The opening of fast action gives away to growth and learning, which isn’t bad, but easier to put down. As the end approached, though, I found myself wanting to pick the book back up more and more. I can forgive the slower pace in the middle since the spaces of less action brought so much depth and growth to the characters, so not really a plus or minus there…just a fact.

I won’t give away any spoilers, but the end took a turn that I didn’t expect. I found the ending much more satisfying than the typical “good destroys evil” plot. The author definitely conveys a message with the way the book ends, and I liked that.

There were a few typos sprinkled through the book, but they weren’t enough to detract from the story.  The author also tended to invent words to describe animals and other things since this is a futuristic world completely different from ours. That’s great, especially when she included enough description to let the reader know what type of animal the word referred to. Sometimes though, no description was offered and the comparison would fall flat.

Still, any and all complaints I could find about this book are small details. The story is good, the writing is straight forward and relatively fast paced, and the characters are believable. Definitely a solid read, and I’d be happy to read the rest of this series when it comes out, or any other work by R.E. Sheahan.
__________________________________________________________

Buy Storm of Arranon on Amazon

Visit R.E. Sheahan’s Website

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

