Author Interview and Giveaway by Debbie Christiana


To win a free print copy of Twin Flames, leave a comment on this post with your email address included in the body of the comment. This giveaway will close to entries at 3 PM (EST) on May 31.

Meet Debbie Christiana!

Debbie Christiana would sit in her room as a little girl and write stories about ghosts, unexplained events and things that go bump in the night. She combined her love of the paranormal with her fascination of unusual love stories and decided to write paranormal romance.  Her novel, Twin Flames, was released in 2011 with Black Opal Books.  In February 2012, her vampire short story, The Land of the Rising Sun, was one of ten included in the anthology BITES: Ten Tales of Vampires.  Debbie is a member of RWA and Secretary of the Romance Writers Chapter of Connecticut and Lower New York.  She lives in Connecticut with her husband and three children.

Her Website    Twitter    Facebook    Her Publisher    Amazon    Barnes&Noble

Hello. What’s your name?

Hi, Lisa. Thank you so much for having me today. My name is Debbie Christiana.

What do you write and why?

I love the unexplained things that happen in life especially if there is even a hint of the supernatural involved. Unusual love stories also intrigue me, so I combined the two and write paranormal romance and romantic suspense.  Most of my stories are novels, but the short-story bug bit me, and I had a vampire short published in an anthology, BITES: Ten Tales of Vampires in February of 2012.

Do you read the same genre that your write?

Yes. I love anything paranormal as well as horror and a good edge of your seat thriller. I haven’t tried to write a thriller and the vampire short was as close to the macabre as I’ve come. But who knows what the future holds.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

Twin Flames.

What is it about?

Twin Flames is about forty-year old Natalia and twenty eight year old Marc who meet under peculiar circumstances one cold December evening.  They soon discover they are twin flame soul mates, have spent hundreds of lives together and that Natalia holds the key to Marc’s odd birthmark.  They must overcome obstacles to be together in this lifetime and get help from surprising ally, a mischievous ghost.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

My story is about reincarnation, delving into past lives and soul mates.  While there have been other novels written about this subject, the market isn’t flooded with them. I hope readers find my theme, which is a bit different, fun and interesting.

What’s the story behind the story? What inspired you to write your book?

My mother handed me a book on reincarnation when I was twelve years old and it has interested me ever since. As much as I love to read novels, I gobbled up all the books I could on the beliefs of reincarnation and especially the regression aspect – reliving past lives. The story was a natural extension of my research and fascination of the whole rebirth process.

What is your goal as an author?

I love to write and hope I always do.  I don’t want it ever to become a chore because if you aren’t writing for the love of the story and characters, but because of deadlines, etc., the reader notices, the story suffers and the enjoyment is gone. I have a small fear I’ll run out of ideas, but I think I’m safe for now.  My head is churning with plots, creatures and people who want me to tell their story.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I’m very close to typing ‘the end’ on my WIP.  The working name is Solstice. It’s about an Italian hereditary witch, a Strega, named Sofia, who has the daunting task of breaking a 250-year-old curse that Armend, the hero, has on his head, by the winter solstice. The family who cast the curse doesn’t want it broken, so it becomes a battle of wits and magic to see who will win.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Thomas Harris, Anne Rice.  I have too many favorites to pick just one.

Where can readers find you and your work?

My website is debbiechristiana.com. Follow me on Twitter @DebChristiana and Face Book: Debbie Christiana, Author.   Twin Flames is available from Black Opal Books (BlackOpalBooks.com), Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would prefer and why?

As an avid reader, there is nothing like holding a book in your hands to read. I love to go back to a book, see pages folded over, food and wine spilt in spots because I didn’t want to put it down long enough to eat a meal. On the other hand, I do own a Kindle, and have grown to like it.  My vampire short in the BITES anthology is only available as an e-book and that’s been a great experience.  I think there is a place for both, but I truly hope printed books never disappear completely.

Do you have a favorite quote?

My favorite is by Dr. Seuss.  “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter, don’t mind.”

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Be resilient. Not everyone is going to like what you write all the time and that’s okay. Learn to consider and accept well-meaning and creative criticism. If more than one person recommends a change because it doesn’t move the story along, or it’s too wordy, then take a step back and look at it objectively. They may or may not be right, but at least think about it.  In the end, it’s your story and your voice.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

I’d like to wish everyone a safe and happy Memorial Day weekend.  I hope everyone will take a moment to remember all the men and women who have served, fought, been wounded and given their lives for our country.

Please take a moment to visit Debbie at the following links:

Her Website    Twitter    Facebook    Her Publisher    Amazon    Barnes&Noble

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Author Interview and Giveaway by Debbie Christiana

  1. MonaKarel says:

    Hi Debbie!! Fancy meeting you here when I was on a Sunday morning stroll through the Internet. Twin Flames is such a lovely read. Looking forward to Solstice!

  2. Hi Lisa, It was great being here today. Thanks so much for having me.

    Debbie

  3. Anne OBrien says:

    Debbie Christiana is an amazing storyteller !

  4. Hey Annie – Flattery will get you everywhere!! Thanks for stopping by.

    Debbie

  5. kendrajames4 says:

    Hi Debbie, great post. I love the paranormal too and writing about it.
    Bev Irwin/Kendra James

  6. Hey Debbie. Great post. I especially love the Dr. Seuss quote – one of my favorites. I hope to never run out of ideas either. I have about a half dozen stewing in my head right now…

  7. Twin Flames, sounds like a great story. I have always been intrigued by reincarnation. Loved your interview and enjoyed learning a little about your story.
    Thanks
    Lynda

  8. Loved your interview. I enjoy learning a little bit about fellow authors. I’m intrigued with reincarnation so I can’t wait to read your story.
    Thanks
    Lynda

  9. Great interview and blog post, Debbie. Enjoyed reading it and so looking forward to reading your book.
    czjelic@gmail.com

  10. Great interview and blog post, Debbie. Enjoyed reading it.

    czjelic@gmail.com

  11. Lisa Taylor says:

    Thanks everyone for stopping by! Please remember if you want to be entered in the giveaway, you need to actually type out your email address in the body of the comment 🙂

  12. Leslie Wright says:

    Hi Debbie! Love the interview and I’m enjoying Twin Flames!!!

    • Hi Leslie, Thanks, I’m glad you like it. Please let me know when you’re done. You’re book is more than patient waiting for me. Soon, I promise 😉

      I’m glad you stopped by.

      Debbie

Leave our authors some love...

