Author Interview and Giveaway with Spencer Brokaw


For the chance to win an ebook copy of The Impenetrable Spy, please leave a comment on this post answering the following question: If you could travel back in time, where would you travel and why?  Please also include your email address in the body of the comment. This giveaway closes to entries on June 7th at 3 PM (EST)

Meet Spencer Brokaw!

Spencer Brokaw published his first book The Impenetrable Spy in 2011 at age 12. He enjoys writing and plans on creating a series. He resides in Ohio and enjoys swimming, golfing, playing the drums, and reading.

Check him out at:

Spencer’s Website   Amazon   Smashwords   B&N

Hello! What’s your name?

My name is Spencer Brokaw and I recently entered the self-publishing world at age 12!

What do you write and why?

As of now I am writing an espionage series, but I have ideas brewing that would make me get out of my comfort zone. Writing espionage is kind of like playing a video game for me, and is just as fun!

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I read a lot of Science Fiction, Mystery novels, YA, and some espionage, but not as much as other genres. Most espionage involves adult scenes and not all is the “type” of espionage I write. But, I have read some espionage and enjoyed it! I especially like watching spy movies (James Bond, Bourne movies, etc.) because they give me a lot of ideas for my own writing.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

I am currently promoting my first novel, The Impenetrable Spy, but my second novel is set to release in the near future.

What is it about?

Here is The Impenetrable Spy’s product description: Zack Carter was an ordinary person until meeting up with the CIA. Zack creates a time machine that can transport him back in time when his heart rate stops. Zack is nearly “Impenetrable” and can not be beaten. Wang Bo, a rich leader of China discovers a small statue that can make peoples worst fears come alive. He is also the leader of a mass terrorist group dubbed the Bad Hounds. Zack’s main priority is to save the United States from World War 3. He travels through several missions through huge mansions, a war torn D.C., an insane asylum, and New York City.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

It features elements of Sci-Fi, which most espionage would not. The time travel scenario is something I haven’t seen implemented in other books, and that makes it unique.

What’s the story behind the story?

Video games. The most influential video game was Splinter Cell, a game about a Clandestine organization—Third Echelon, and their best agent—Sam Fisher.

What is your goal as an author?

I would like to get picked up by a major publishing company later down the road.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

Yes! I have been editing my sequel, The Impenetrable Spy: Future Dreamer for quite a while now.

In the return of the Impenetrable Spy, special agent Zack Carter’s oldest friend has been murdered and the crime has been pinned on Zack: his prints are on the gun and now he’s on the run. With agents on his tail and danger ahead, Zack races from Nigeria to Chicago to Langley itself in a search for the truth. And the deeper he goes, the more he realizes he’s been caught in a conspiracy of apocalyptic proportion. Now he must clear his name and stop the true killer before time runs out … and the world goes up in flames.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

I don’t have a favorite author, or book. My favorite series would have to be Harry Potter, but I enjoy many genres and all the books I read are so different from one another that it’s hard to pick a favorite, or even compare them at all!

Where can readers find you and your work?

If they go to my website— http://www.spencerbrokaw.com/  they can find links to my  book in the tab “The Impenetrable Spy Preview.”

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I would prefer a traditional publishing company to pick me up, mainly because you get more marketing and more people are likely to read your work.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice”-RUSH

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Keep writing. It’s the only way to get better! Thanks for having me on!

Thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Don’t forget to check out Spencer’s work at the links below!

Spencer’s Website   Amazon   Smashwords   B&N

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

