Zrinka Jelic Shares Her World and a Giveaway


To win a free e-copy of “Bonded by Crimson,” leave a comment on this post with your email address in the body of the comment. This giveaway closes to entries on June 7 at 3 PM (EST).

Thank you for hosting me on your blog today. It’s always a pleasure to reach out to new audience and readers. My debut novel “Bonded by Crimson” has been released on January 28th, and it is available in all formats at Black Opal Books, Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes & Noble and All Romance eBooks

Although the world in my novel is not made up, I can see how it may feel as if you stepped out of the normal world into an ancient realm. Just as any country, Croatia too, strives to preserve its cultural heritage. And many civilizations resided in these parts since prehistoric times and each left a signature in form of architecture, art or any kind of artifact discovered in archeological digs. So as you can imagine, the remnants of past world still very much dominants the modern asphalt jungle.  It is not unusual to start digging foundations for a new building and right beneath the surface find the whole new or in this case old world. This frustrates the builders because it slows down the construction. The construction site is now an archeological dig and the progress is painstakingly slow. Often times the finds are incorporated in the new building. There’s a store in my city of Zadar, where one can observe mosaics from an old Roman bath. In the town of Split, many people live inside Roman’s emperor Diocletian palace. The buildings are renovated inside and out with all the today’s conveniences such as indoor plumbing and electricity. The astonishing fact is that, unlike in medieval times, ancient Romans recognized the importance of proper sanitation in urban settings and most of their buildings have something equivalent to today’s sewage system. Coming back to the city of Zadar, one can follow the ruins of Roman aqueduct that delivered water to the city from even today very distant river Zrmanja.

So try to picture cities as well as small places, their ancient buildings bleached by the sun, rising straight from the blue Adriatic Sea.

As the city of Dubrovnik is well preserved, so is the castle Vitturi, where one of the characters from my novel is from.

And now I’ll leave you with a short excerpt from “Bonded by Crimson”, enjoy.

She left her mother’s small apartment and passed through the Bridge Gate under the steep medieval-defense walls then continued on to the Forum. A central market and public area during Roman times, it lay in ruins for almost two thousand years. Now it was a tourist attraction. Unable to resist the temptation, she ran through the remains and pretended she was a child again, playing hide and seek.

She crossed the square to the Church of Saint Donatus. Religious services had not been held here for centuries, but the place made her feel as if she had stepped out of the busy modern world into an unchanging, ancient realm, wrapped in a shroud of mystery, waiting to be awakened again someday.

A few tourists, fascinated with the unusual round structure of the building, oohed and aahed at the entrance. She paid the admission and strolled across the three apses cloister. An amateur sang an unrecognizable tune on the small stage. Anywhere else in the world, his singing would sound like strangling a cat, but the stark interior provided acoustics that made his voice bearable.

The steep stairs took her to the first floor arcade where she walked around, looking down on the ground level until she completed the circle. This was her little ritual each time she visited here.

The thick, stonewalls kept the heat out. She took a deep breath, sat, and pulled the laptop out of her bag. So, what else was new here, besides the marble floor? She scanned the interior while her computer booted, taking note of the plexiglass coverings on the windows. Good, it kept the pigeons out.

Street noises mixed with the clunking sounds of guys setting up chairs on the lower level for the concert venue of the Annual International Festival of Renaissance Music.

And this is where the above excerpt took place.

 

______________________________________________________
BLURB

Love isn’t in the cards for her…

After her short failed marriage, Kate tries to rebuild her life and takes a position as a nanny to three small boys. She quickly grows to love them, but their father, terrifies her, while igniting a passion she didn’t know she possessed. Disturbed by his distant manner with his sons, Kate struggles to make him more involved in the boys’ daily lives. Her efforts are mysteriously supported by an entity that cannot really exist. Or can she? And if she does exist, is she really trying to help Kate, or just take over her body?

But when he deals the hand, all bets are off…

Six years after his beloved wife passed away, Matthias is still trying to become the father she wanted him to be. Not an easy task for a three-centuries-old immortal. His search for the ultimate nanny ends when Kate Rokov stumbles to his home and into his arms. The immediate attraction he feels for her seems like a betrayal of his dead wife, a love he’s harboured for over three hundred years. But when Kate is stalked by a deadly stranger, life he clung to in the past begins to crumble and break down. Can Matthias learn to trust and to love again in time to save his family from disaster, or will his stubborn pride destroy everything worth living for?
__________________________________________________________

AUTHOR’S BIO

Zrinka Jelic lives in Ontario, Canada, with her husband and two children. A member of the Romance Writers of America and its chapter Fantasy Futuristic &Paranormal, as well as Savvy Authors, she writes contemporary fiction—which leans toward the paranormal—and adds a pinch of history. Her characters come from all walks of life, and although she prefers red, romance comes in many colors. Given Jelic’s love for her native Croatia and the Adriatic Sea, her characters usually find themselves dealing with a fair amount of sunshine, but that’s about the only break they get. “Alas,” Jelic says, with a grin. “Some rain must fall in everyone’s life.”
__________________________________________________________

Contact me @: www.bondedbycrimson.blogspot.com  or at http://zrinkajelicromanceauthor.wordpress.com/

Find me on: Facebook  and  Twitter

Watch the book trailer: Bonded by Crimson

One lucky reader who comments on my post will be randomly selected to win an eBook copy of “Bonded by Crimson”. Good luck!

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Giveaway, Share Your World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Zrinka Jelic Shares Her World and a Giveaway

  1. Thank you for hosting me today, Lisa. It’s always so exciting to reach out to new audience.

  2. Piper Shelly says:

    Nice post, Zrinka. You know, I’ve been to Croatia last year, and even though I didn’t get the chance to visit the city of Zadar, I was really impressed by the beauty of this land…and its marvelous sea. I won’t participate in the option to win your e-book because I already have the paperback (signed, I should mention) and loved to read it. 😉

  3. kendrajames4 says:

    Sending love, Zrinka. Loved the excerpt. I felt like I was there with her and that is my goal to travel. Maybe someday I can visit your homeland.
    Bev/Kendra

  4. livrancourt says:

    I can’t think of anything cooler than living in an ancient Roman palace. Great post, Zrinka!

  5. Hi Zrinka, Awesome post. I love the pictures and now I can visualize the places while I’m reading your book. I’ve swam in the Adriatic Sea, on the Italian side, it’s beautiful. Hopefully someday I can visit the Croatian side. How cool to have such old and interesting history.

    Debbie

  6. Lorna's Avon says:

    Hi Zrinka..loved reading your post..your home city sounds like a very interesting and romantic place i’d love to visit one day..Hugs, Lorna

  7. Hey Zrinka, Your home sounds amazing. A place I need to put on my bucket list. I love to travel an my list is full of places I want to see.
    Loved your post and excerpt.
    Lynda

  8. Hey Zrinka, Your home sounds amazing and a place I would love to visit someday. Putting it on my travel bucket list.
    Great post and excerpt.
    Lynda

    • Thanks for checking my post, Lynda. Yes, travelling is really exciting. Wish if I could do more of it. Once kids get bigger, it’s hard to go down the corner store with the two of them, never mind another country.

  9. Great post. Ever since college, when I became friends with a student from Croatia, I’ve wanted to visit. Maybe one day I’ll get the chance. For now, I have your book to transplant me there. 🙂

  10. I’ve always wanted to visit Croatia ever since college when I became friends with a transfer student from Split. She had amazing pictures and stories. Maybe one day I’ll get there but for now I have your book to visit. 🙂 Great post.

  11. Pingback: Awesome Friend, Cindy Brown and Her “Sunshine Award.” A WooHoo Week! « legendsofgreenisle

  12. Just wanted to let you know that I mentioned you in my blog today. 🙂

Leave our authors some love...

