Book Feature and Giveaway – “The Phantom Pilot” by Ann Swann


For the chance to win a free e-book copy of The Phantom Pilot, please leave a comment on this post. Include your email address in the body of the comment so that you can be contacted if you win. This giveaway closes to entries on June 9 at 3 PM (EST).

The Phantom Pilot by Ann Swann

When a small plane crashes behind Jase’s house, the ghost of the pilot decides to stick around. He doesn’t really want to haunt Jase, but since the man is now more phantom than pilot, that’s just what happens. Jase knows he needs a brave soul to help him figure out what the pilot wants, so when he sees Stevie-girl entering the town’s legendary haunted house, he’s certain she’s the one.  But can he convince her to help him, or will the phantom pilot live in his closet forever?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What People Are Saying:

(5 stars) “A Touching Tale With Just Enough Fright!” – Ashley Fontainne, Amazon Customer.

(5 Stars) “Makes me nostalgic for Nestle’s chocolate milk and riding my bike to the city park. Very fun and spooky read!” – Damon Jackson, Amazon Customer

(5 Stars) “I just finished reading your book!!! Honestly, I couldn’t quit until I finished the whole book.” – Beckie Grant, Amazon Customer

(5 Stars) “I just loved this book! Even though it is meant for kids ages 10 and up – I think any adult who loves to read would enjoy this story, too.” – Dee’s Reading Room, Amazon Customer

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

Prologue

It was the late 60’s: the Beatles had washed across America like a British tsunami, Vietnam was a grainy, green and black dose of unreality on the evening news, a bunch of hippies had taken over San Francisco, and there was a heck of a rainstorm pouring down on Woodstock in upstate New York.  But I didn’t know all that then.  I was a little bit lost, looking for something.  But I swear I didn’t go looking for a ghost . . . well, okay, maybe I did.  But I didn’t expect to find one.  Heck, I was just a kid—I didn’t expect much of anything.

Chapter One

I was twelve years old, standing knock-kneed in pigtails and ripped denim in front of a haunted house, trying to dig up enough courage to go inside.  But I was terrified.  I’d read the books; I’d seen the movies on Shock Theater.  No matter what, you don’t go inside the spooky old house.  No matter who dares you, no matter what lures you.  You do not go in.

Hand trembling, I opened the door.

The warped wood screeched when I pushed it—and I expected that.  But I didn’t expect the dusty floorboards to moan with my every step.  I tried not to think about it.  I was in.  I’d lived around the corner from this house all my life and today I’d finally garnered enough willpower to walk inside.

The light was dim, murky with dust motes and cobwebs.  The curtains were little more than yellowed rags hanging in tatters.  The windows themselves were so filthy the light coming through was leached of its goodness by layers and layers of grime.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Learn more or purchase your copy at:

Amazon
Barnes&Noble
Ann’s Blog
Ann’s Website
Twitter

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Book Feature, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Book Feature and Giveaway – “The Phantom Pilot” by Ann Swann

  1. This bok sounds eerily amazing. Thanks for the giveaway.
    bexnbooks@yahoo.com

  2. Ladette says:

    This sounds great!! I would love to read this (adding to my to TBR list!). Thanks for the introduction to the book/author and for hosting a giveaway!

    ladettek[at]gmail[dot]com

  3. Nice description! Reminds me of being a kid and talking about the “haunted house” in our town. We would NEVER have dared go inside . . ..

  4. Jeryl M. says:

    Sounds interesting. I’d like to read it.

  5. Ann Swann says:

    Thanks to all of you for the lovely comments. And thank you, Lisa, for hosting me! You are super! I’m doing this the old-fashioned way. I’ve copied all the names and am putting them in a hat for my hubby to choose the winner….ah, what the heck…you ALL win a copy. I’m sending out emails momentarily. Hope you all enjoy it. =) Ann

  6. Ladette says:

    Thank you Ann!! And thank you Lisa for hosting!

  7. Becky says:

    You’re unbelievably generous. Thank you x

Leave our authors some love...

