Book Feature and Giveaway – Torn by Christine Hughes


Please leave a comment on this post with your email address in the body of the comment for the chance to win a print copy of Christine’s new book, Torn, released on June 9th! This giveaway ends on June 13 at 3 PM EST. Entrants from the continental U.S. only please.

Torn by Christine Hughes

With the sudden, mysterious death of her father, Samantha discovers her life isn’t what it seems. Not only isn’t she the normal teenage girl she thought she was, Sam must now take her father’s place in the fight between two groups of fallen angels—the Faithful and the Exiled—in a race to save humanity. In addition to dealing with the devastating betrayal of her friend and her feelings for someone she is forbidden to love, Sam must also fight the growing darkness within her as she struggles to make a choice between fighting alongside the Faithful or succumbing to the temptation of the Exiled. Both sides require sacrifices Sam isn’t sure she can make.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What People Are Saying:

Torn is a paranormal YA thriller, that also nudges at the romantic suspense genre. It’s a good vs. evil with touches of forbidden young love. Our heroine, Samantha, thinks she is a normal human teenage girl—not that any teenage girl can really be called “normal.” But Sam has no reason to suspect that she is anything other than human. Her life revolves around school, her best friend and foster brother, Lucas, and her secret crush on her other foster brother, Ethan. Then her father dies and Sam discovers she is much more than she thought she was. She is supposed to fight for the light against the dark, but the dark side is so very tempting…the book is well-written, the storyline unique, and the plot strong. So whatever age you are, grab a nice cup of tea, a comfy spot on the couch, and enjoy.

Taylor Jones, reviewer

The storyline in Torn is unusual and refreshing. While it’s about the fight between good and evil—a common enough plot—the heroine is born of the dark but determined to fight for the light. She is also confused. She knows she wants to fight for good, but she is very tempted by the darkness within her. As she struggles to make her choice, the plot shifts on us and gives us more than one surprise. I was very impressed by Hughes. Her writing is quite good, her characters refreshing, and the storyline much more sophisticated than is normal for YA. I found myself riveted from the very first page.

Regan Murphy, reviewer

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

I knew it was dangerous, but the voice was so tempting…

Samannnnthaaaa…

Unable to speak, I wiped the beads of sweat from my forehead and looked around. I swung my head toward the window and peered outside, searching for the source of the taunting voice. Where was he? The sky had darkened significantly and just beyond the trees I saw a swirling shadow that seemed to pulse. The vegetation surrounding it had withered, becoming gray and lifeless as though the shadow had sucked up all of the energy. A faint hum filled the air, growing louder as the shadow pulsed faster.

Samannnnnnthaaaa…It’s time. Join us.

“Where are you?” I could barely get the words out. “What do you want from me?” This voice had plagued me for months and I wanted to know for sure it was Sebastian, yet the thought of finally knowing, finally seeing him, scared me more than the uncertainty.

The voice chuckled. Join us and I will show you everything.

“Never,” I whispered. “Never. My father died protecting me. I will never come to you.”

Again, a high-pitched and foul laugh rang in my head, making it spin. Dark clouds rolled ominously overhead, the wind picked up and the dull humming became inescapable white noise. Silly girl. You will come to us. You will make the choice. It is your destiny.

Despite my protest, I stepped toward the window then, leaning over the sink, I reached up to unlock it. My reflection was unrecognizable in the glass. My hair was wild and my eyes were huge and black as shadows emanated from within me. Whatever was out there was reaching for me with ghostly fingers, and as I opened the window, a dark mist snaked toward the house. I closed my eyes in giddy anticipation of the unknown.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Learn more or purchase your copy at:

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Black Opal Books
Christine’s Website
Facebook
Twitter

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Book Feature, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Book Feature and Giveaway – Torn by Christine Hughes

  1. Thank you for featuring my book, Lisa! You are awesome!

  2. livrancourt says:

    Just 24 more hours, Christine! It’s SO exciting. Congratulations on your release!

  3. I want a free copy! Congrats Christine!
    arlenelagos@msn.com

  4. Great cover! Sign me up for the contest! michelle@michelleljohnson.com
    And congrats!

  5. Ladette says:

    Sounds great! I’d love to read it and share with the YAs in my life.

  6. Love the post and congrats, Christine. It’s so exciting to have your book out.

    czjelci@gmail.com

  7. Myriam DeLeon says:

    Congrats!!! sign me up too motito1824@aol.com

  8. Jill Trought says:

    Book looks amazing!!! Would love to read it!!

    jilltrought@gmail.com

  9. JOSH says:

    Ii know this book will be the start of many blessings …. i cant wait to read it! Good luck and have fun with this. You deserve it!! Jrstoyanowski@purefishing.com

  10. momof3boysnj says:

    Kristimunis@aol.com

    Congrats on the release of Torn!!!! Can’t wait to read it!!!!

  11. momof3boysnj says:

    Congrats on the release of Torn!! Can’t wait to read it!

    Kristimunis@aol.com

  12. Alexis Hubbard says:

    Im so excited! Its finally here!

  13. Michelle Johnson has won the book!

Leave our authors some love...

