“A Sentimental Journey” and Giveaway by Cynthia Meyers-Hanson


For the chance to win an e-copy of Through the Storms HE Performs and an e-copy Surreal-The Hell in the Family, leave a comment on this post with your email address in the body of the comment. EVERYONE who comments during the giveaway period will receive an e-copy of Mom’s on the Roof and I Can’t Get Her Down if they’d like one. This giveaway ends at 3 PM (EST) on June 20.
__________________________________________________________

A Sentimental Journey

Some people dream of being authors; my writing began as a nightmare- my mother died!  HOWEVER, mom’s experiences ran the gamut from going through all the grieving stages to having what can be called a Christian Near Death Experience.  Believing everything she said during her babbling about God and Heaven, I became her translator; I wrote it all down in Mom’s on the Roof and I can’t Get Her Down.

A few books later, I met Wavie Green.  After a car accident, while pregnant, she outlived a 14 day coma. This lady talked with God during her unconscious state.  According to her, she still communicates with HIM.  Her story in Through the Storms He Performs was my first, co-written book.

After meeting with some cousins due to a genealogy study, I wrote my first novel. My relatives handed me some incredible family secret for Surreal- The Hell in the Family. Talk about relatives coming out of the woodwork when they think you’re famous.  I’m jesting! Over the years, I produced more books based on true lives of normal people!

Recently, the really fun writing started!  While working at a Christmas tree lot, some holiday experiences led to my first children’s book called Frasier the Fir is Forever Green. After that, I wrote and illustrated more picture books, which are sold separately or under the trilogy title Holi-Daze.

Through it all, I’ve tried to remain authentic.  Therefore, I write nonfiction inspirational books with my name Cynthia Meyers-Hanson and fiction with my pen name Sydney S. Song.  My readers know the difference between my inspirational, miraculous, true books and my fibs or half-truths full of poetic license. That’s Just ME being me!

In my self-promotion work, I’ve run the gamut of suggestions from other authors and PR people. I’ve tried it all! I’ve queried publishers and agents as well as contracted with a small publisher.  Currently, I use POD and eBook providers.  Over the years, I’ve given FREE copies of my books to strangers and celebrities. I’ve asked for reviews and ratings from those reading my books.  All these activities led to participation in anthologies as well as SN writing groups and sites including Facebook and GoodReads.

Writing books has been a long journey covering twenty-one years; it’s been a curse and a blessing. Why? PR including good marketing and branding are very time consuming!  The main goal of branding PR is to become the expert in your field. There is an explosion of writers especially in the e-book arena; the place is so flooded that even FREE books can LAG in SALES.  That is why BRANDING and PR are important and my current focus.  Over the years, my growing diversity made it harder to define my niche.  HOWEVER, if I’d waited to publish, then, Mom’s on the Roof and I can’t Get Her Down would not be proving itself to be true prophecy or God inspired.  WHAT? Its copyright date of 1994 precedes some of the events that occurred thereafter.  In other words, some things happened after the facts were published.  The result is that my true niche is the ability to see God’s stories and focus on getting them into my HIS Story and other non-fiction titles.
__________________________________________________________

About Cynthia Meyers-Hanson

Some people dream of being authors; my writing began as what could be described as a nightmare!  In 1991, my mother died!  HOWEVER, mom experienced what could be called a Christian Near Death Experience (NDE) as she travelled to and from Heaven.   My witness became Mom’s on the Roof and I can’t Get Her Down.  Due to my life changing trip, I had to overcome a partial shoulder replacement, which hindered my left arm.  With one hand, I wrote three books including My ArmOr (My Life), which is about my acceptance of God’s plan for my life.  Over the years, I’ve co-authored or compiled other Divine and inspirational tales; they range from faith healing to other Near Death journey;, my inspirational, Christian books total seven.  Meanwhile, I have ghostwritten three novels including The Vision, which is based on my true story of overcoming blindness, bipolar dysfunction, and living ‘The Golden Rule.’  Also, I’ve produced five picture books for children.  Finally, I wrote one historical, YA Novelette.  I use my real name, Cynthia Meyers-Hanson on non-fictions as well as the children’s literature; my pen name, Sydney S. Song is reserved for my novels.  You can find out more about my writing on my author webpage, which is at http://mchanson714.weebly.com/
__________________________________________________________

To contact me or find out more about my work:

My author page points to my other online locations; it contains a blog as well.
You can find all my paperbacks as well as eBook Kindle versions through AMAZON
Most e-versions of my books are available through SMASHWORDS
Any hardcover books are via LULU
My first and longest running blog site
My Facebook author page

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Giveaway, Guest Post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “A Sentimental Journey” and Giveaway by Cynthia Meyers-Hanson

  1. I awarded you The Inspiring Blogger Award. Thanks for sharing such great information.

    • Lisa Taylor says:

      Wow, thank you Kristi! I have posts for authors scheduled pretty far out…I won’t be able to put up an acceptance post until July 18. But you totally just made my day, so thank you! I promise I’ll link to you from my acceptance post when I do put it up 🙂

Leave our authors some love...

