Character Interview with Marie DiLuca from “Fractured Facade” by Elena DeRosa


Meet Marie DiLuca!

With one foot planted in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Southwest Virginia and the other in the streets of Brooklyn, New York, Marie DiLuca enjoys the best of both worlds. Born and raised in the Bensonhurst section of Brooklyn, Marie now resides in Roanoke with her husband and two children.

A former videotape editor, producer, and freelance newspaper columnist, Marie’s most rewarding career has been the years spent raising her children. Blogging, photography, and paranormal investigating are her hobbies.

Hello, what’s your name?

Hi, my name is Marie DiLuca

And you’re originally from Brooklyn, right? Did you like it there growing up?

I was born in the Bensonhurst section of Brooklyn and lived there for 30-something years. After we had two kids, my husband and I decided we wanted them to have a different upbringing than we did, so before they turned school age we moved to Roanoke, Virginia. And let me tell you, living in the South is way different than living in New York! Although I know I made the best move for my children, I miss my friends and family that still live in New York. Not to mention the food! It’s funny…I spent so many years just waiting to get out of New York, and once I finally did, I find myself longing to go back.

Does your family still live in Brooklyn?

Many of them still do. My mom died in 2000 leaving behind my father and brother. I had hoped my dad would move to Virginia to live with us, but that never happened.

So I hear you went back to Brooklyn recently – what was going on?

A couple of weeks after we had gotten back to Virginia from spending a wonderful week with my father and other relatives in Brooklyn, I received a terrible phone call from my brother. A detective had informed him my father had been found dead in his home.

I’m sorry to hear about your loss. What happened?

I’m still trying to piece everything together. Dad looked good when I last saw him and sounded fine on the phone two days before he was found. It was a shock.

How are you handling it?

For the sake of my kids I’m trying to keep it together, but it’s been difficult.

Dealing with a death in the family is never easy.

No, it’s not and when you’re dealing with a sociopath it’s even more challenging.

A sociopath?

Oh, did I forget to mention my father’s ex-girlfriend?

Yes, what about her?

Well, a couple of years ago my father began dating her. I had my suspicions about her, but my father assured me he had everything under control. It was difficult trying to open his eyes to see today’s dating scene is quite different than the one from his youth. Some people create facades to mask their true intentions, and sadly, loneliness can cause an otherwise intelligent person to behave foolishly. As I sought answers to my father’s mysterious death, my questions became amplified and my suspicions confirmed regarding his ex-girlfriend. I can’t tell you how frustrating it’s been to discover how so many people were, and continue to be, oblivious to the wily ways of this con artist. The last thing I expected to inherit was his ex-girlfriend.

Well, sounds like hard times for you.

Yeah, it’s been crazy. Frankly, I’m tired of saying, “You can’t make this stuff up!” I’m looking forward to getting my life back, and I vow one day I will, no matter how long it takes!

Glad we could end this interview on a positive note. Good luck with your investigation!

Thanks!
___________________________________________________________

The Kindle Edition of Fractured Facade is free through June 17! Get your copy here.

Marie’s peaceful life in Virginia is shattered the moment she receives word from her brother: “I just got a call from a detective. Daddy’s dead.” Rushing to her family home in Brooklyn, New York, Marie seeks answers to her father’s mysterious death only to discover disturbing occurrences and encounter acts of betrayal.

After her questions are amplified and suspicions confirmed surrounding her father’s ex-girlfriend, Marie becomes frustrated by how oblivious so many had been, and continue to be, to the wily con-artist.

Inheriting her father’s scheming ex-girlfriend becomes a journey Marie never imagined she’d be forced to travel.

Written as memoir, “Fractured Facade” is a cautionary tale for anyone concerned about a parent after the loss of their spouse. The survivor, often thrust into an unfamiliar world, finds it quite different from the dating scene of their youth; one where some create facades to mask their true intentions. Sadly, loneliness can cause an otherwise intelligent person to behave foolishly.

“Fractured Facade” is the tale of a father’s death, a daughter’s life, and a sociopath’s vendetta.

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Character Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

