Character Interview and Giveaway – Will Rossi of Dreaming Dangerously by Kathleen Harsch


For the chance to win free e-copies of both Dreaming Dangerously and Darkness Descends, please leave a comment on this post with your email address included in the body of the comment. This giveaway will close to entries at 3 PM (EST) on July 2.

Meet Will Rossi

Will Rossi is a sixteen year old high school student, living in Tampa Lakes, Florida with his grandfather. His mother and father were wonderful people who, unfortunately, died two years ago. Will is not only a gifted artist, but a talented running back as well.

However, Will has a unique ability most of his classmates, except for one of them, does not have – he can read minds. With a simple touch, he knows exactly how you are feeling and what you are thinking. There’s no keeping a secret from him, well, at least, not very easily.

Then, he discovers there are many limits to his telepathic abilities after he meets, Cassie Duncan, a new girl who has moved into the area and attends Twin Palms High School. She has psychic abilities that rival his.  Together they become the Children of the Psi.

Check out Will’s story in the books, Dreaming Dangerously and Darkness Descends, Books One and Two of the Children of the Psi Series.

Welcome.  Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Thanks.  Hey! My name is Will Rossi. I’m just a regular guy with something quite unusual going on. If I touch you, I can read your mind and know how you’re feeling. I have both telepathic and empathic abilities. Although my abilities are changing since I met Cassie.

Who is Cassie?

She’s my girlfriend. We have a rather tumultuous relationship at times. She drives me crazy with her fears and issues of trust, but I still can’t resist her beautiful smile and witty comebacks. Cassie moved to Tampa Lakes, the community where I live with my Gramps, a few months ago. I’ve been in love with her since she walked into Mighty Joe Burgers where I work, um, used to work. Long story that I can’t explain right now. Anyway, she came in all long legs and blonde hair that falls in waves around her face but her eyes, her eyes are killer, a kaleidoscope of blues that I could never recreate in my art in a million years, but I still try anyway.

(Laughs) At first, she didn’t want to have anything to do with me.

Why not?

Apparently, my thoughts about her kept broadcasting load and clear into her mind. I didn’t know that was happening, and she couldn’t figure out why it was happening either. Her ability allows her to keep out most unwanted thoughts, unless she wants to hear them. But for some reason, the moment I saw her, my mind decided to attach itself to hers. I think it was fate. We were meant to find each other.

But I can control how much she hears now. When I don’t want her to know something, I just think about something beautiful and project those thoughts to her. She likes my artistic mind, so it works.

If she didn’t like you at first, what won Cassie over?

My dimpled smile, my uncontrollable curly dark hair and the muscles that fill out my shirt. (Laughs) No, I’m just joking. I’m not really full of myself. I plucked that out of her head when we were sitting next to each other in gym. That was the first time I kissed her. Well, it also could have been the portrait I drew of her and left on top of her math book at her parent’s restaurant where she works. She loved it. I think Annie might have helped, too.

Who is Annie?

Annie is like my best friend. We’ve known each other since we were little kids. I used to live next door to her. My dad used to coach our soccer team when we still played on the same team, and my mom baby sat her when her mom had to work.

Annie helped me through some rough crap when my parents died and I did a whole bunch of stupid stuff that landed me in jail. If it weren’t for Annie and her mom and my Gramps, I never would have gotten over my parents’ deaths.

Tell me more about your mom and dad.

(Sigh) I don’t talk about them much. Because when I think about them, I want to get violent or something. It’s not fair that I lost them. A stupid truck smashed into our SUV. At least they died instantly. Not me, I suffered in the hospital for a few days and then I was without parents.

Because I was fourteen, Youth and Family Services, in their infinite wisdom, thought I should be ripped out of my home, my home sold and put into foster care. At least Gramps recovered the money from the sale of the house and put it into a college fund for me. He was out of country when it happened. He’s a retired military man, who was serving in Iraq at the time. I had to live with a foster family until he was able to get his discharge through. When I lived with the foster family, I kept running away. I even stole their car and drove over to the lake and lived there for like two days until the cops found me and hauled me off to juvie. I started fires at school. I did some really dumb things that I would never do now. There are still a lot of adults at my school who don’t trust me, like the assistant principal, Mr. Jackson. But I know a few secrets about him that I could use to my advantage if I ever needed to. (Laughs)

Anyway, more about my mom and dad. Mom was this wonderful, imaginative person, who was my muse and the person who most wanted me to pursue art. She encouraged me by bringing me to private lessons and buying art supplies for me. She was a teacher at a nearby school. Dad was a cop. He was probably the best role model any kid could ever want in a dad. He was patient, spent time with me, bought comic books for me. He was… I can’t talk about them anymore. Sorry.

So, you’re really good at football, too?

Yeah, Annie’s boyfriend, Paul Lamont and I have become really good friends. He’s the quarterback of our team, the Twin Palms Panthers. We’re actually district champions, but I get ahead of myself. After coming back from Iraq, Gramps had to get me under control. I kept getting in trouble with the law and running away, even from him. So, since I liked to run so much, he put me in football. I played for both community league and the JV squad, until I made varsity in the last part of my freshman year. I like to run, what can I say? It also helps that when the guys tackle me, I can pick up their thoughts, so it helps me to let Paul know what the other team may be planning next. Paul and I hang out together a lot and play catch. Sometimes he goes running with me. Even though I don’t run away from home anymore, I still go for a run every day.

You call yourself a Psi Child. What is that?

For years, I was the only person I knew with a psychic ability. I always wanted to know others like me. So, when I found out Cassie was a telepath too, I was so blasted-out-of-my-mind happy, I kissed her. In front of our entire gym class. (Laughs) Which led to some pretty hilarious moments afterward. She didn’t find these things so amusing, but anyway, once she was no longer mad at me, we started dating and doing research about our abilities. We found out that the word “psi” is another word for paranormal, parapsychology, etc. It’s also this really cool letter in the Greek alphabet, Y that looks like a forked Y. I started calling her Psi Child and she loved it. Once we found other teens like us, we became the Children of the Psi. There are many different forms of psychic abilities.

Really? Can you explain them?

Well, before I met the others, I thought Cassie and I were extremely rare, like Shakespeare and Mozart or something, but I found out that I actually knew others like us, who were hiding their abilities.

One is a healer. She can see into your body’s cells and her mind can tell the cells how to repair themselves. She uses her hands as a conduit. I promised not to tell her secret, so I can’t tell you who she is, but she reveals herself in Darkness Descends.

Another teen we meet with psychic abilities is a clairvoyant. Medium. Her mom owns a store that sells psychic goodies like Tarot cards and crystals, stuff like that. Anyway, she has visions of the future that are incredibly accurate.

Then, we also meet a pyrokinetic, who can also move objects, a telekinetic. There’s not much I want to say about him right now. Let’s just say, he’s someone I DO NOT TRUST at all. This guy’s sister can change words on electronic devices. I’m sure she could probably interrupt communications, too, if she wanted to. Not quite sure what to call that – it’s a form of telekinesis.

We’ve met a few others through our website, kids that talk to ghosts (mediums) and others who can talk to animals (zoological telepathy?).

So, how do you think you got your abilities?

I’m not sure, but I’m determined to find out. I think it has something to do with the Human Cognome Project and Nanotechnology. Scientists are trying to map out the human brain and even thought transference, where memories are stored, etc. Then, they hope to use nanotechnology to repair damage from diseases or to enhance the human brain. I found it on a website when Cassie and I were researching our abilities in the library. I’m still trying to find out more, though.

Is that what you are doing now?

Yeah, but Cassie keeps hearing from the dark presence, so that has me a little preoccupied right now.

The dark presence?  Who is that?

We don’t know yet, but I want to find out why he’s bothering her and stop him. He scares her all the time. I can’t wait to get a hold of this guy. Maybe I can arrange a blanket party for him, sponsored by our football team. I don’t know, anyway, he’s like an older man, who speaks very properly, like a doctor or professor or something.

Do you have any enemies?

Well, Jessica, my ex-girlfriend, is not really the most helpful person on the planet. She likes to stir up the drama between Cassie, Cassie’s parents, and me. Jessica is a beautiful girl who needs to get over herself, and over the fact that she can’t control me anymore. I don’t fall for her seductive charms like she wants me to. I never did, and it drives her nuts.

I guess my other enemy would be the dark presence and anyone who may be associated with him. I don’t like anyone who messes with my girlfriend like that.

And of course, there is the telekinetic/pyrokinetic Psycho Boy, who I CANNOT stand and want to pound into the ground.

Anything else you’d like to say?

I have a question. Do you have a theory about who the dark presence might be? I don’t think he’s one of my teachers, but he seems to know who I am, and he definitely knows who Cassie is. I hate being mind-stalked. It’s super creepy.
__________________________________________________________

Books One and Two of the Children of the Psi Series

A teen mind-reader tries to keep her secret from the gossips at her high school.

A popular boy who finds out.

Her nightmares start to come true.

She must learn to trust him before it’s too late to stop the tragedy that awaits.

 

 

A psychic teen wants to know why he has abilities.

Someone is mind-stalking his girlfriend, controlling her body remotely.

Someone holds the key to their origins.

Can they find out the truth before it’s too late?

 

 

__________________________________________________________

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Character Interview, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

