Author Interview and Giveaway – L.R. Wright


For the chance to win a free e-copy of Basement Level 5: Never Scared by L.R. Wright, please leave a comment on this post with your email address included in the body of the comment. This giveaway will close to entries at 3 PM (EST) on July 6.

Meet L.R. Wright!

I’m a devoted wife of many years and mother to 3 wonderful children who inspire and motivate me to follow my dreams.  In addition to writing, I love romance novels, fine wine, and hanging out with my friends and family.  I crunch numbers for a living, and plan events for fun.

Find her at:  Her Website   Her Blog   B&N   Amazon    Smashwords    Black Opal Books

Hello! What’s your name?

L. R. Wright

What do you write and why?

I write romantic Women’s Fiction, romantic suspense, and AA contemporary romance

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I definitely read what I write, but I like to read other genres as well.  I don’t write mystery, but I love a good cozy mystery and I’ve recently started reading paranormal romance.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

My debut novel, Basement Level 5: Never Scared

What is it about?

Alexa Martinez is in danger.  Her family is threatened by her past and she must make some hard decisions to ensure her children’s safety

Blurb:  Alexa Martinez was raised to believe that murder, deceit, and lies were a part of life. A trained killer, she follows in her father’s footsteps, specializing in political assassinations for Martinez Security—contracted through the CIA. She thrives on the power, money, respect, and—most of all—the adrenaline rush.

Despite the danger associated with her profession, Alexa strives to give her children a normal life. But when her past catches up with her, they become pawns in a deadly game of revenge. Operating from a secret base, five levels below ground, Alexa struggles to unravel the puzzle, uncovering secrets that will alter their lives forever. Now she must make a choice—is she willing to die to give her children a life outside the bullet-proof glass?

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

For this book, I’ve actually stepped outside of my normal genre.  While I consider it to be Women’s Fiction, it’s mainly a thriller.  The heroine is a kick-ass woman who will do anything to protect her family.  At the same time, it’s a story about relationships.  There’s a romance between Alexa and Alejandro, who are married.  But this is also a story about true friendship and the dynamics within a family.

What’s the story behind the story?

Actually, it’s pretty cliche.  I had a vivid dream about the characters escaping to an underground lair, five floors underground.  The strange part is that I continued to dream of these people for a week.  Everyone I shared the dream with, encouraged me to write the book.  Years later, I finally put it down on paper.

What is your goal as an author?

I just want to retire from my 9 to 5 to write.  I guess hope springs eternal.  If I can’t write full time, I really just want to write realistic stories.  I want to write heroines that have been through something or have done things that have real consequences.  Oh, and I want to write a book that will be made into a film.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I’m working on a few different novels.  I’m querying IT’S COMPLICATED, an African American contemporary romance about a woman torn between following her heart and traveling the safe route.  I’m also working on my grandmother’s story, another contemporary romance, and a romantic suspense.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite author is Beverly Jenkins and my favorite book is Indigo by Beverly Jenkins.

Where can readers find you and your work?

My blog:  http://www.thebasementlevelfive.blogspot.com
Website:  http://www.lwrightauthor.com
Facebook: Leslie Wright Author
Twitter:  @LWrightAuthor
Publisher:  http://www.blackopalbooks.com

Basement Level 5: Never Scared can be found at:

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/155672
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007XO3H9M
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/basement-level-5-l-r-wright/1109472392?ean=2940014569019
Black Opal Books: http://bookstore.blackopalbooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=21&products_id=32
All Romance: http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-basementlevel5neverscared-786346-149.html

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I think self-publishing is great.  I’ve seen wonderful product from authors who’ve self-published.  For me, I hope to one day be published traditionally by one of the top publishers, but I’m happy being published by a small, new press.  Black Opal Books has been awesome and I like the support they give their authors.  I also like having a publisher take care of editing, copyediting, and other business things.

Do you have a favorite quote?

I have a few favorites.  Here’s one:

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer.  Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” Harriet Tubman

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Never give up.  Never.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Thanks for having me!  I appreciate the opportunity!

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit L.R. at the links below!

Her Website   Her Blog   B&N   Amazon    Smashwords    Black Opal Books
__________________________________________________________

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Author Interview and Giveaway – L.R. Wright

  1. Great post, Leslie (as usual)! Maybe you and I could retire and write from 9-5 together! lol And I agree, Black Opal has been amazing to work with. Can’t wait to read whatever you release next. BL5 was awesome 🙂
    Chrisitne

  2. This sounds fascinating. Wonderful interview. Checking out the author’s blog.

  3. Thanks for having me Lisa! I appreciate the opportunity.

  4. bev irwin says:

    Great interview, Leslie. I want to meet your heroine.

  5. Thanks everyone for stopping by. The winner of a free e copy of my novel is Donna McBroom-Theriot!

Leave our authors some love...

