Guest Post and Giveaway by Bev Irwin


For the chance to win a free e-copy of EITHER Ghostly Justice OR When Hearts Collide, please comment on this post with your email address included in the body of the comment. This giveaway will close to entries at 3 PM (EST) on July 8.

Hello everyone! I’m so pleased to be here at Writer’s Party. Thank you, Lisa for inviting me.

Well, Canada Day was yesterday and what a hot one is was. And the heat wave doesn’t look like it’s going to end any time soon. Don’t mind the heat so much, but the humidity, that’s another thing. Had to run out yesterday and get a portable air conditioner. The one window one just wasn’t going far enough. At least now I don’t feel like a limp rag unable to lift my hands to the keyboard.

By the way, scroll to the bottom of this post to see my full bio.

So enough about me. Let’s talk about writing. Are you a reader or a writer? I know you will all say yes to the reader part. I don’t know any writers who aren’t voracious readers. It’s part of the writer’s package. We read and it stirs us to share our own words and thoughts. By reading, we learn what works and what doesn’t. We learn the grammar rules, develop our voice, and then learn what grammatical rules we can break in creating that voice.

Myself, I LOVE rhetorical devices. I took an awesome course with the wonderful Margie Lawson and got to practice many of them. I think she teaches about 28 of them in her course. And, me, I was up to practice every one of them. I have to frequently rein myself in and delete some of my darling rhetorical devices. But oh it is so much fun playing with words. I guess that is why I am a writer.

I also love writing in several genres. I think writers sell themselves short when they say they can only write romance or mystery or adult or children’s. Being a writer gives us license to write whatever we want. We may prefer one genre or age group over another, but it is only our own mind that is limiting us. WHEN HEARTS COLLIDE was my first book published. It is still an ebook but is supposed to be coming out in print soon. The cover is gorgeous so I can’t wait to see it in print. I also have a another couple of romances that I am working on, one contemporary, one medical romance. But let my imagination wander and it will head toward a mystery. I love to come up with a nice, intriguing puzzle especially if it means I can develop some complicated bad guy and find some interesting way to bring him to justice.

But I found that I also love writing children’s stories and have several that I may do something with. From Farley the pig, to Kiriana’s Power, a fantasy, to The Wooden Statue, a goosebumps novel. I guess I’m a bit ADHD and find I lose interest and creative juices when I just work on one thing. And we should be writing on more than one project. After getting many, many rejections, its nice to be more than a one book wonder and to have something else to offer when that acceptance letter or phone call or email finally comes.

With myself, I got the offer for WHEN HEARTS COLLIDE from Soul Mate Publishing in the September of 2011. Then within a couple of days of Halloween I got an offer from Black Opal Books for GHOSTLY JUSTICE, a paranormal YA, which came out in April of this year. Wasn’t Halloween an apropos time for a contract for a ghost story. Then just before Christmas I got a contract for my women’s suspense, MISSING CLAYTON, due out in July. I also have two more contracts, one for IN HIS FATHER’S FOOTSTEPS, a YA adventure story, and WITHOUT CONSENT,  a medical/police thriller, both hopefully out before the end of the year.

As you can see I write in several genres and enjoy them all. Don’t limit your writing. Experiment. See where your imagination takes you, but most of all keep that pen moving and the pages turning.

So here is my GHOSTLY JUSTICE, a paranormal mystery.
__________________________________________________________
 Fifteen-year-old Daria Brennan doesn’t want to hear people’s thoughts. She doesn’t want to see ghosts—or talk to dead people. And she definitely doesn’t want to help solve a forty-year old murder. But Amanda wants revenge, and Daria is the first human contact she’s had since the day she died. Now the killer is after Daria and her friends. Can they solve Amanda’s murder before becoming his next victims?

 

 

 
If you witnessed an accident on a lonely stretch of highway, would you stop or continue on your way? For nurse Molly Tanner the choice is clear. Risking her own life, she pulls the seriously injured driver and his young daughter from the car. When Pearce begs her to pose as his wife to keep Gracie from foster care, memories of her unhappy childhood rush back. But can Molly keep up the charade without her own secrets being discovered and her heart from being shattered?

 

 

Find excerpts, reviews, and more at Bev Irwin’s website!
__________________________________________________________

Award-winning author Bev Irwin lives in London, Ontario, with three assorted cats, one that hid in her car when she moved from a farm and two others dropped off by her daughter five on two different occasions. Her three children have flown the coup. But her granddaughter, Jasmine, is a frequent visitor.

As a registered nurse, she likes to add a touch of medical to her romance and mystery novels. She writes YA, children’s, and poetry. She prefers spending time in her garden, writing, and reading to being in the kitchen.

Her debut novel, WHEN HEARTS COLLIDE, a contemporary romance came out in December of 2011 with Soul Mate Publishing under the pen name of Kendra James. Irwin’s YA paranormal novel GHOSTLY JUSTICE was released by Black Opal Books on April 14th, 2012. MISSING CLAYTON, a suspense novel, also with Black Opal Books will be published in July, IN HIS FATHER’S FOOTSTEPS, a YA adventure, and WITHOUT CONSENT, a medical thriller, will be out later this year.

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Giveaway, Guest Post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Guest Post and Giveaway by Bev Irwin

  1. livrancourt says:

    Two out and three to go? You are one busy lady! I hope the temperature drops a little – in fact, you could send a few degrees my way. Seattle hasn’t started the whole summer thing yet.
    😉

    • bev irwin says:

      Hi Liv
      I thought I wanted to live in Vancouver or Vancouver Island but though I like rain, I don’t think I would like that much. That is until the snow comes. In Ontario, the winters are cold and snowy and the summers seem to be getting hotter and more humid.

      I’m so glad that I’ve finally broken into the publishing scene. A friend used to say just work on one thing at a time. I’m glad I didn’t listen to him. With Lauri liking my writing, I have the opportunity to get the other ones out there. Still lots I’m working on. Its like craft projects, there’s nothing more exciting than starting a new one.

  2. MonaKarel says:

    Hi Bev
    Isn’t this a great blog site for your tour? I had so much fun here! New Mexico has finally broken the wicked heat, but no rain yet. As much as we desperately NEED rain I’m wishing it toward Colorado first.
    I’m also in the multiple genre category. I think a lot of readers are and as writers I feel we need to constantly push our own boundaries.

  3. Love the post! I started in YA but my 2nd novel, also picked up by Black Opal, is considered contemporary fiction. I thought it was a romance but since there is no real, tangible HEA, I’ll go with contemporary. I have a few more YA’s on the brain but I’d love to write a real, honest to goodness, scare the crap out of you thriller.

    • bev irwin says:

      Oh, I just love thrillers. Lauri put the genre of my MISSING CLAYTON, coming out in June as a thriller, but I know WITHOUT CONSENT is one. I just love the covers Jack came up with for both of them. I took the picture for my second YA, IN HIS FATHER’S FOOTSTEPS. Jack is going to use it but change the font.

  4. Hey Bev,

    I’m feeling the heat, too. Thanks God for central air conditioner. Though we only turn it on usually in the afternoon when the thermostat starts to climb pass 27C. It could be worse tough I remember a few rainy, cold, miserable summers. They are so not fun. Unless you have to work then it’s ok to go in and not envy those who get to lunge on the beach.

    Books sound great and I’m looking forward to reading “Missing Clayton”. I hope to read some of your children’s stories one day. That and YA is still not the territories I’d venture in. But I do like to read more realistic life struggles for YA. Like issues that deals with teenage pregnancy, or not getting along in blended families. I seem to come across many teenagers who had to deal with such things and I like to read on how the experiences change their lives and how they overcame the troubles and became better, stronger persons.

    • bev irwin says:

      Hi Zrinka.
      I’m doing the proof reading on Missing Clayton then want to get into your book. I’m working on a book about a teenage girl who attempts suicide and want to do in from different peoples heads, hers, her parents, her friends, the hospital staff. I hope it comes together.

  5. Hi Bev, Great post. Wow, you have a lot going on. Good for you! I guess I’ve stuck myself in the paranormal romance genre. Although what I’m working on now I hope is a little darker. There is a murder and a curse. Like Christine, I’d like to move over to something creepy. Time will tell.

    I just got back from Vegas, 108 but dry. Came back to CT and it’s hot and humid. Oh well, it’s summer 😉

    Good luck.

  6. bev irwin says:

    Hi Debbie
    I like the heat but not the humidity. Just had a thought, sometime some of should get together and do an anthology of short stories. Do you think Lauri would go for that.

  7. bev irwin says:

    Thank you, Lisa for having be here today. Greatday.

  8. kendrajames4 says:

    And the winner is: Christine Hughes. You will have to let me know whether you would like a copy of Ghostly Justice or When Hearts Collide.

Leave our authors some love...

