Book Feature and Giveaway – A Good Man by Vanessa Morgan


For the chance to win a free e-book copy of A Good Man by Vanessa Morgan, please leave a comment on this post with your email address included in the body of the comment. This giveaway will close to entries on August 2 at 3 PM (EST).

A Good Man by Vanessa Morgan

Do you like Dexter and American Psycho? Then chances are you’ll love A GOOD MAN.

Louis Caron is a good man. Vegetarian, he feeds the homeless, takes care of animals and is concerned with the ecological future of the planet. But his altruism has a sinister edge – he’s a vampire – and local detective Taglioni is becoming increasingly suspicious. Louis’ attempts to escape the police will take him on a journey into his own private hell where he is not only forced to confront his worst fears, but also to destroy the lives of those he cares about most.

A GOOD MAN is currently in production with Radowski Films.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What People Are Saying:

A Good Man is a tasty little morsel that will stick with you for some time. Vanessa Morgan’s vampires are different, very different. Karma, vampires, life, philosophy, I was hooked from the start. Excellent story; my mind’s eye can still see the final scene as I write this post. I highly recommend A Good Man.”Gnostalgia

A Good Man is very engrossing. I could not wait to see what was going to happen next. Great characters that Vanessa brings to life and that will make a great film. I give it a fun five star rating.”Kipp Poe’s Blog

“This is a great story! The characters are well-written, the comedic moments are funny, and as for the story, it goes from humour to being very dark, and it segues from tone to tone seamlessly, eventually culminating in a great ending. The story also has some dramatic moments, that are all handled very well. As for the negatives, I honestly can’t think of any. A Good Man is a great story and is well worth the read!”Not This Time, Nayland Smith

“I found the screenplay to be very captivating as Vanessa brings to life all the characters. And with just enough mundane everyday movements of mortals to keep you interested, Vanessa then throws in the violence and suggested violence which keeps you hooked waiting to see what will happen next. I would give this a 5 star rating.”My Cozie Corner

“I do not usually read screenplays, but I am so glad I accepted to review A Good Man. I got sucked into this story from the very beginning and I easily imagined each scene and character. Very well written and easy to follow. I recommend this to horror fans.”Geeky Girl Reviews

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

EXT – STREET – DAY

Snow-covered streets seen through a floor-to-ceiling window.

FRED (V.O.)

Would you like to begin, Eric? Your case is rather peculiar.

ERIC (V.O.)

My name is Eric. I’ve been a vampire since 1973 and I have constant headaches because of a brain tumor. An eternal headache, if you get what I mean. I’m also suffering from depression, but that’s curable, they say – even for a vampire.

INT. PSYCHOLOGIST’S OFFICE – DAY

LOUIS CARON (55 years old) stares out the window, lost in thought. Behind him, four people participate in their weekly group therapy session. Amongst them: a French lady with crutches (MADAME RENAUD, 50’s), a depressive cancer patient (ERIC, 40’s) and a black obese woman with an exuberant personality (LÉOPOLDINE, 40’s). The moderator, FRED (35), has a gentle voice. Your typical spiritual guru.

MADAME RENAUD

(with a French accent)

That’s nothing compared to me. I have a broken hip, too much cholesterol, chronic sinusitus —

LÉOPOLDINE

(provocatively)

I was wondering, Madame Renaud… Were you already a hypochondriac when you were transformed or did that come later?

MADAME RENAUD

(too busy with herself to hear the remark)

… Lupus, malaria, lack of vitamine C, Addison’s disease, …

ERIC

What’s bizarre is that every time she comes here, the list gets longer.

FRED

Let’s listen to what Louis has to say.

(to Louis)

Do you want to come and join us, Louis?

Louis turns. He was obviously not following the conversation.

LOUIS

Uhm? What?

(notices that the session has begun)

Oh, hi Fred. I didn’t hear you come in.

Louis sits down.

FRED

Go ahead. Madame Renaud is still enumerating her ailments.

FRED

Miss Renaud!

She stops speaking. Fred gestures that it is Louis’ turn.

LOUIS

My name is Louis. Louis Caron. I’ve been a vampire since 1750 and as you can see, I’m old and ugly. For me, that’s the problem about being a vampire. I was 55 when I was transformed and I will stay 55 forever. I will have wrinkles forever. I will have arthritis forever. Fucking annoying.

FRED

That’s your karma taking revenge on your body. The more good you do around you, the more you will be able to lead a happy, healthy life. But because you are all vampires, your karma is punishing you. It’s as simple as that. Now, what I’d like to hear from you is what you all do to improve your karma. What do you do to be a good person, despite your vampire nature?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Learn more or purchase your copy at:

Vanessa Morgan’s official website
Amazon
Amazon UK
Amazon France
Smashwords
Smashwords France

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Book Feature, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

