Author Interview with Amy Metz


Amy Metz is the author of the Goose Pimple Junction mystery series. She is the mother of two sons and lives in Louisville, Kentucky. When not actively engaged in writing, enjoying her family, or spoiling her dog and two granddogs, Amy can usually be found with a mixing spoon, camera, or book in her hands.

Pay her a visit at: Her website,  Amazon,  Barnes&Noble,  Facebook,  or Twitter

 

 

Hello! What’s your name?

Hi, Lisa. My name is Amy Metz, and it’s a pleasure to be here.

What do you write and why?

I write mystery novels with a lot of southern humor and a bit of romance as a sideline. I read a lot of mysteries, and I love books that are written with humor, so I guess that’s why I write what I do. I like trying to figure out whodunit, and I love to laugh. I also like becoming attached to a character and following him or her in a series.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

Murder & Mayhem In Goose Pimple Junction, it’s the first book in a mystery series.

What is it about?

The book is written from the vantage point of two time periods—the 1930s and the present day. In 1935, John Hobb, father of four, is a witness to a bank robbery. He identifies the robbers and testifies against them. They are later pardoned by the governor.

In 1937, Hobb is found in his idling car by the side of the road, dead from a gunshot wound to the head. The circumstances surrounding his death are a mystery; there are no suspects and no leads. However, there is one piece of evidence no one knows about except for the killer. The problem is, he doesn’t know where the evidence is hidden.

In 2010, John Hobb’s murder is still unsolved when Tess Tremaine moves into his former house. She finds a job at the local bookstore, which is owned by Louetta Stafford, the youngest daughter of John Hobb. During renovations to the old house, Tess finds a mysterious old key. When she learns of the seventy-five-year-old unsolved murder of the former owner of her house, her curiosity is peaked. Her investigation attracts the unwanted attention of two men in town–one who only wants her, and one who only wants her dead. As she gets closer to the truth and attempts to solve a puzzle and find a killer, she finds mystery, murder, and mayhem.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

I’ve been told the southern humor in this book is unique. I grew up hearing colloquialisms like, “I’m busier than a cranberry merchant.” The characters in Murder & Mayhem use sayings like that liberally, which some say makes the town seem like one of the characters. The “goosepimpleisms” are definitely a part of my quirky characters’ daily existence.

What’s the story behind the story? 

The 1930s portion of the book is based on actual events. I remember thinking as a child, when I heard the accounts of what happened to my father’s aunt, uncle, and grandmother, that someone should write a book about them. Like Tess, I found the mystery very intriguing. I thought it was a story that should be told, even though the characters and outcome in my book are fictional.

What is your goal as an author?

To entertain. I read books for pleasure and escapism. I would be very pleased if I could provide that for other readers.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I’ve finished writing the second Goose Pimple Junction book, and I’m working on the third now. One of the secondary characters in GPJ1 becomes the main character in the second book, Heroes & Hooligans. Two months after the first book ended, the town is just recovering from the murder and mayhem that shook the small town. Now Goose Pimple Junction is troubled by a serial thief, a stalker, and a murderer, making the new police chief busier than a set of jumper cables at a redneck picnic.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Okay, this is going to sound strange, probably because it is. My favorite author is Robert B. Parker, but my favorite book is Spencerville by Nelson DeMille. I love all of Parker’s work, but I’m not sure I can pick out one book that’s my favorite. Nelson DeMille is my second favorite author, and his Spencerville stands out above the rest to me.

Where can readers find you and your work?

My website is www.amymetz.com.

The book is available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/0985138874

My Facebook page is: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmyMetz

Twitter: https://twitter.com/goosepimpleisms

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing?

I think self-publishing gets a bad rap. The perception of self-published work being inferior is far too prevalent. If you self-publish, you’re in control of your work. You don’t have to wonder what’s going on or when something will happen. On the other hand, it’s nice to have someone believe in your work and put time, money, and effort into getting it published. I just wish more people would give self-publishing and small presses the respect they deserve.

Do you have a favorite quote?

I’m a collector of quotes, and I’m always adding to my list, so I can’t say I have a favorite. But one I saw recently by Max Lucado comes to mind: “Impossible . . . is one of God’s favorite words.”

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Be tenacious. Find a critique partner or group. And rewrite, rewrite, rewrite!

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Thank you so much for hosting me, Lisa.

Don’t forget to pay Amy a visit at the links below!

Pay her a visit at: Her website,  Amazon,  Barnes&Noble,  Facebook,  Twitter

…Or view her book trailer below

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with Amy Metz

  1. geostan51 says:

    As a fellow Indie author, I appreciate your attention to detail and your sensitivity to the Indie writer’s plight. Please keep producing. You have a way with broadcast media.

Leave our authors some love...

