Author Interview and Giveaway – Jaidis Shaw


For the chance to win a free e-copy (.PDF or .Mobi) of Destiny Awaits, leave a comment on this post with your email address included in the body of the comment. This giveaway will close to entries at 3 PM (EST) on August 13.

Meet Jaidis Shaw!

Jaidis Shaw currently resides in a small town located in South Carolina with her husband and beautiful daughter. With a passion for reading, Jaidis can always be found surrounded by books and dreaming of new stories. She enjoys challenging herself by writing in different genres and currently has several projects in the works.

When not reading or writing, Jaidis maintains her blog Juniper Grove and helps promote her fellow authors. In addition to her free promotion services, she uses her experience in publicity to offer freelance author services.

Find & Follow Jaidis Shaw:  Amazon Author Page, GoodReadsKindlegraphFacebook Fan PageTwitterYouTubeGoogle+

Hello! What’s your name?

Hi! My name is Jaidis Shaw! Thank you so much for allowing me to visit today!

What do you write and why?

My writing career began with short stories. I have always wanted to be an author but I wanted to test the waters first. After having two short stories in different genres accepted for publication, I took the leap and published my first YA paranormal romance novel.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Yes! I think it is important as authors to read all genres, especially those that we want to write in. Since I challenge myself by writing in different genres, I make sure to cover all of my bases and read practically everything!

What is the title you are promoting right now?

I am currently promoting my debut novel Destiny Awaits. It is the first book in the Juniper Grove Chronicles and so far, has been received with mostly positive feedback.

What is it about?

After the death of her parents, Alayna packs up and moves to Juniper Grove in hopes of starting over. When she captures the eye of a local vampire who has caused the town to enforce a curfew, she quickly realizes that everything isn’t how it appears. While learning to deal with her new life and understand the changes she is going through, she must also make sense of her feelings for her neighbor Jayden, who happens to have a secret of his own.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

We all know that young adult books with vampires and shape shifters have been done before; over and over again. My main goal while writing Destiny Awaits was to add elements that were different and new so that readers would remember it. I have received several emails from readers that wanted to tell me that the main thing they liked was the new spin I put on things, such as the mingling of blood lines.

What’s the story behind the story?

I started writing Destiny Awaits several years ago because I loved reading about vampires and shape shifters. After I had to put writing on hold while I learned to adjust to living with epilepsy, I didn’t feel the connection I originally had with it and so I did a total re-write. I changed as a person and the story needed the same change.

What is your goal as an author?

I’m sure every author dreams of becoming a bestselling author, having fans all over the world enjoy your story (and I certainly am no exception) but nothing makes me happier than hearing from readers who genuinely enjoyed a story that I created. If I have allowed a reader to escape into a new world for even a moment, then my goal has already been achieved.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I am currently working on book two in the Juniper Grove Chronicles. Since each book is stand alone, book two will take a closer look at a character first introduced in Destiny Awaits named Violet. I am also super excited about a paranormal thriller that I am working on titled The Stager. Here is an excerpt from the prologue of The Stager:

That was the last day that I was my mother’s daughter. I had turned into nothing more than a burden that she had to support. Over the next few years my mother and I hardly spoke. On occasion, a curious expression would surface on her face and she would open her mouth to speak but words hardly ever followed. The look of distaste on her face grew to be a normal occurrence. The pain of rejection that she planted on me soon blossomed into hatred that was ripe enough to harvest. I decided I didn’t need anyone to support me. I could take care of myself. Perfecting my skill became my only motivation to live. I made sure that every opportunity was utilized.

Victory was mine the day I saw my mother’s essence leave her body and wrap itself around me like a cloak. I had her memories, her skills, and her looks. I could be her forever – if I wanted. I sometimes found myself wondering if there was anything left between us but feeling the extent of her fear and disgust towards me now as it coursed through my veins, I knew there was nothing salvageable left. Instead, I shrugged her essence off of me and watched it return to the lifeless body on the floor. The world became my stage and I was determined to play the lead role.

Now, I am anything and anyone I want, because I am a Stager.

I am you.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

I have so many favorite authors! But one that I quite enjoy is Jean M. Auel and her Earth’s Children Series.

Where can readers find you and your work?

I am available almost everywhere! The easiest way to find me is to visit my blog, Juniper Grove, where I have all of the links listed.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

Just like everything in life, there are good and bad elements to both self-publishing and traditional publishing. Personally, I see nothing wrong with self-publishing which is why I opted to release Destiny Awaits on my own. I was just at a point where self-publishing was the best choice for me. That said, if a traditional publisher wanted to publish a work of mine, I would be more than willing to consider it.

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

No matter which road you decide to follow, always make the most of it. Spend time reading, researching, and writing. If you have a story that you want to share with the world, then put in the effort and make it happen.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Thank you so much for interviewing me today! I had so much fun! If you have any questions or comments, I’d love to hear from you!

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Don’t forget to visit Jaidis at the links below!

Amazon Author PageGoodReadsKindlegraphFacebook Fan PageTwitterYouTubeGoogle+

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Author Interview and Giveaway – Jaidis Shaw

  1. Jaidis Shaw says:

    Thank you for interviewing me! I had a great time!

  2. Aaiza I. says:

    This sounds great!!would love to add this to my collection
    aexaawan@hotmail.com

Leave our authors some love...

