Author Interview and Giveaway with Tonia Brown


For the chance to win a free e-copy (.PDF or .Mobi) of The Cold Beneath, please leave a comment on this post with your email address included in the body of the comment. This giveaway will end at 3 PM (EST) on Aug. 17th.

Tonia Brown’s short stories have appeared in a variety of anthologies. She has cranked out several books, including Lucky Stiff: Memoirs of an Undead Lover, Badass Zombie Road Trip, Skin Trade, and the erotic steampunk series Clockworks and Corsets. Tonia lives in North Carolina with her genius husband and an ever fluctuating number of cats. When not writing she raises unicorns and fights crime with her husband under the code names “Dr. Weird and his sexy sidekick Butternut.”

You can learn more about her and her pen name, Regina Riley, at: www.thebackseatwriter.com

Find Tonia at: Her websiteAmazonFacebookTwitterGoodreads

Hello! What’s your name?

Tonia Brown

What do you write and why?

I write horror, humor, steampunk and erotica. I do both short stories and novels, have been known to write a smidgen of terrible poetry and have been contemplating the world of screenplays. Why these things or these genres? Because I love the act of creating, making folks laugh or cringe, and leaving the audience with a satisfied smile.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I read all of the genres I write because I enjoy them, or I wouldn’t write them. If nothing else, a writer should keep up to pace with what others in their genre are doing.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

The Cold Beneath

What is it about?

Phillip Syntax is the world’s best biomechanic with a checkered past of betrayal and lost love. When given a chance at redemption by the celebrated soldier Gideon Lightbridge, how can he refuse? This ill-fated expedition turns from daring to disastrous when their airship, the Northern Fancy, crashes in the far and frozen north, leaving the crew stranded without hope.
But that isn’t the worst of it.

One by one the dead crewmembers arise from the cold ashes to seek the warmth of the living, and it becomes every man for himself in an effort not to join the ranks of the revenants.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

It combines both steampunk and horror, which are elements you do not see paired very often.

What’s the story behind the story?

The book is a sort of love letter to my twin sister’s obsession with zombies. She was always complaining that zombie stories are essentially all the same—modern setting, Romero type zombies, apocalyptic atmosphere. She wanted something different, so I gave it to her.

What is your goal as an author?

To entertain.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

Right now I am knee deep in a fantasy/humor/horror novel with the working title “Gnomageddon.”  It’s about a plague outbreak in a fantasy world that is turning all the gnomes into zombies. The gnomes start spreading it to everyone else and things threaten to go from bad to hellish. (Can you imagine a zombified hill giant? I can, and it ain’t pretty.) The high magic council recruits a ragtag team of unwilling adventurers to try and discover the source of the menace. But the land of Malgaria better hope the party members can stop fighting amongst themselves long enough to get anything useful done. Signs point to ‘not bloody likely.’

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Neil Gaiman is my fave author. Good Omens is my fave book.

Where can readers find you and your work?

I am all over Amazon https://www.amazon.com/author/toniabrown. You can also find me at http://www.thebackseatwriter.com

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I do a bit of both actually, and though I would love for a large company to take me on I have enjoyed my self-publishing journey. Obviously a larger house could give me better promotion, something I have trouble with on my own. I have gone with smaller places, and enjoyed the personal touch they give.

The real trouble with self-publishing is that folks take no pride in their work. They don’t take the time to have it properly edited, or give it decent cover art, because they get excited and throw just any old thing at the audience because they think the amazing story alone will carry the book along. It’s just not true. You do yourself a disservice by not taking the time to get it right.

I have surprised many a reader when they discover a novel of mine was self-published. “But it’s so well edited and the cover is amazing!” I know, because it cost me both time and money to get it just right. If you are going to self-publish, do all of us a favor and take the time, the money and the effort to make it worth buying, much less worth reading.

Do you have a favorite quote?

“I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work… I want to achieve it through not dying.” ~Woody Allen

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Read. Write. Rinse. Repeat.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Did you know King Tut was buried with 145 loincloths? Why so many? What was he planning on using them for? Beats the heck out of me.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Please take a moment to visit Tonia at the links below:

Her websiteAmazonFacebookTwitterGoodreads

For the chance to win a free e-copy (.PDF or .Mobi) of The Cold Beneath, please leave a comment on this post with your email address included in the body of the comment. This giveaway will end at 3 PM (EST) on Aug. 17th.

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Author Interview and Giveaway with Tonia Brown

  1. Dee Counter-Griffis says:

    ❤ Can't wait to read this!
    DeeSignNC@AOL.com
    Dee

  2. Aaiza I. says:

    This sounds great!!would love to add this to my collection
    aexaawan@hotmail.com

Leave our authors some love...

