Author Interview with Emma Meade


Emma Meade lives in rainy Ireland. She loves vampires, slayers, witches, ghosts, aliens & shadow men (or at least the youngest of the Shadow Men), and regular people who live extraordinary lives (think Slayerettes and you’re on the right track).

Books, DVDS & TV show boxsets take up lots of space in her home, and she collects all the Point Horror books she can get her hands on.

Writing supernatural short stories and watching marathon re-runs of Buffy are some of her favourite ways of escaping reality.

Find Emma and her work at: Her Author Website, Blog, Goodreads, Facebook, Amazon, Twitter, Barnes & Noble, and Soul Fire Press

Hello! What’s your name?

Hi Lisa. My name’s Emma Meade.  I live in Cork, Ireland and I’m releasing my debut YA novel, Under the Desert Moon this month.

What do you write and why?

I write in the paranormal genre.  I self-published a collection of short stories, Night Sighs last year.  Night Sighs isan adult tale of a vampire romance featuring the characters Alex and Tristan, and now I’m releasing a YA story featuring a vampire-human romance.  Yep, I have a bit of a thing for vamps!  I’ve always adored reading about the supernatural and watching paranormal TV shows. I fell in love with The X-Files when I was a kid and was hooked on Buffy, Roswell and Dark Angel as a teen.  Anything with a little sci-fi or horror is right up my alley.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I read across all genres, but my blog: Emma’s Ramblings on Supernatural Fiction focuses on the paranormal genre across books, films and TV shows.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

Under the Desert Moon

What is it about?

Set in the small town of Copperfield, Arizona, it focuses on 17 year old Erin Harris.  Erin spends her time daydreaming, hoping to escape her small town life.  When a movie crew arrives unexpectedly to shoot a vampire film over the summer, Erin’s small town world changes forever. Erin is positive she has seen the star, James Linkin before in a thirty year old TV show.  He hasn’t aged a day!  Erin wonders how this is possible, and she is determined to get to the bottom of the mystery.  But how will James handle the scrutiny of an all too intelligent teenage girl?

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

Erin is more grown up than a lot of heroines.  She lost her mother a year and a half before, and her father is an alcoholic. With no quality parent figures around, she pretty much looks after herself. She’s a photographer, and she works at the local movie theatre to keep up this hobby, which she’s hoping will earn her a scholarship to an art school in New York after graduation.  Erin is mature for her age, and when a handsome stranger comes to town to shoot a vampire movie over the summer, he takes notice of her, immediately.  I also think the romance between James and Erin is a little hotter than what you’ll find in other YA books of this genre, but of course I’m biased. J

What’s the story behind the story?

Back in 2007, I had just moved home after living in a different city.  It was an unusually warm summer and I got to thinking about what it’s like to come back to live in a place you’ve grown up in, where everyone knows everyone else’s business, and how it had been great to escape for awhile.  I’d also been playing Kelly Clarkson’s Breakaway album on repeat while I’d been away, and the lyrics to the song “Breakaway” spoke to me.  I imagined a young girl in a tiny town, longing to escape. And that’s when Erin was born.  The very first page of UTDM introduces us to Erin looking out her bedroom window onto the desert in Arizona, wishing she was elsewhere.  And of course I’d always enjoyed a good vampire-human story, having read Dracula, Anne Rice, the Point Horror books, L.J. Smith and watching Buffy.

What is your goal as an author?

I’d like to be able to write full time eventually and give up the day job. I’d also love to see my work turned into a TV show or a movie.  That’s the dream anyway.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I’m working on a follow up novel to Night Sighs. It’s called Night Whispers, which means lots more scorching romance for Tristan and Alex.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

I don’t have one.  Authors who I have loved both in the past and present include Anne Rice, Stephen King, Jodi Picoult, Maeve Binchy, Marian Keyes, L.J. Smith, Christopher Pike, Charlaine Harris, Richie Tankersley Cusick, Diane Hoh, Caroline B. Cooney and Stephenie Meyer who brought us Twilight, which I absolutely adore.

Where can readers find you and your work?

The usual online places: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords (for Night Sighs), Goodreads. I also post twice a week on my blog: Emma’s Ramblings on Supernatural Fiction while my author website focuses on my books and writing progress. 

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

Well, ideally I would love to be traditionally published by a giant in the publishing world like HarperCollins, and receive a lovely big advance, publicity and a diligent editing team, but that is a rarity.  With Night Sighs, I was toying with the idea of self-publishing, but first sent it out to a few small ebook presses.  The Wild Rose Press gave me positive feedback, but told me it didn’t fit their romance guidelines, and if I was willing to re-write it, they would take another look. Since Night Sighs was a collection of short stories rather than a novel, it didn’t make sense to re-write, so I decided to self-publish.  With Under the Desert Moon, I signed a contract with a small publisher, Soul Fire Press.  Self-publishing has become a viable option in recent years, and no longer has the stigma it once had.  As long as you treat self-publishing as a business and your book like a product, it’s an excellent option for writers these days.

Do you have a favorite quote?

I still remember Buffy’s interaction with Willow in the first episode where she says: “Seize the moment. Because tomorrow you might be dead”.  I think that’s sound advice.

What is the most important advice you can give to aspiring writers?

Write and read, a lot. I see so many writing websites talking about how to promote and market your book, and I’m guilty of the same thing, spending too much time on social networks and blogs studying marketing methods.  If you want to be a writer, then you have to have a good book.  You can spend all the time in the world learning the best ways to market your work, but if it’s not a good book in the first place, then it’s just wasted time. Also, have a second book written before you release your first.  If readers like your work, they’ll look you up to see what else you’ve done.

Do you have anything else you’d like to say?

I think you and your readers are probably tired of me at this stage, so I’ll just say thank you.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Thanks so much, Lisa.  I found Lisa on Facebook, as I have many other bloggers and writers.  With groups such as the Authors Critique Group and Vampires Lovers, Facebook can be a wonderful place to interact.  Cheers for featuring me today. I had a great time answering these questions.

Dont’ forget to pay Emma a visit at the links below!

Her Author Website
Blog
Goodreads
Facebook
Amazon
Twitter
Barnes & Noble
Soul Fire Press

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Author Interview with Emma Meade

  1. Awesome interview! Under The Desert Moon was a great read…and I cannot wait for Night Whispers! I am a big fan of Tristan and Alex:)

  2. Great interview! I can’t wait to read Under the Desert Moon!

  3. I loved you before, Emma, and love you even more now. Great interview and your new book sounds like a winner. Congrats!

  4. Emma says:

    Tameri, Michelle and Lauralynn – appreciate your support, ladies xx

  5. Pingback: A Vampire in Copperfield / Under the Desert Moon « fuonlyknew

Leave our authors some love...

