Author Interview and Giveaway with DeLeetra J. Staley


For the chance to win a free print copy of A Little Mini-Madness by DeLeetra J. Staley, please leave a comment on this post with your email address included in the body of the comment. This giveaway is open internationally and will end on Sept 30th at 3 PM (EST).

Meet DeLeetra J. Staley!

First, this is my dream come true I have been blessed beyond measure and I am thankful for every moment God has given me. I was born and raised in the South.  I have one brother, two sisters, a niece and nephew who I love so much. My mother and father have always encouraged me to do what makes me happy. I have a degree in biology and I work in a library on a college campus. I have always had stories in my head just floating around and then one day a few years ago I decide to put one on paper. I do write a bit of poetry that I like to call “out of my brain onto a canvas” strange does not begin to wrap it up. This has been the most nerve racking, wonderful, crazy experience of my life. I am blessed and I could not have asked for anything more than to have the novel written; and now to have others reading my book, it is amazing. I love cats and I enjoy life. Laughter truly is the best medicine.

Visit her at these links: Amazon,  Goodreads,  Facebook,  Triquetra Studio

Hello! What’s your name?

My name is DeLeetra J. Staley.

What do you write and why?

I write romance (contemporary/erotica/chick-lit) because I wanted to combine the things that I enjoy.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

Yes I do write what I read.  The reason I do is because it is what I know, I know romance and my desire is romance.  I am a romantic at heart, but in my mind I am realistic.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

I am promoting my first self published novel called A Little Mini-Madness.

What is it about?

A Little Mini-Madness is a hilarious, erotic romance novel. Quintessa James is a top of the line temp agent who meets Alejandro Galliani, a domineering businessman in desperate need of a personal assistant. Watch the sparks fly as these two alpha personalities try to fight falling in love.  I had a blast writing this story I love the characters they are interesting and everybody has a friend like one of the TGP crew.

Blurb: Meet Quintessa Nevaeh James. A strong, independent, take charge woman with one flaw, she has a habit of thinking out loud. Quint also has an addiction to shoes, that might be reason she has no man, she’s never meet a man she loved more than her heels. Quint works for TGP(Thoroughly Groomed Personnel), one of the top temp agency’s in New York. She is career oriented and thinks she only needs a man for the basics, which all revolve around the bedroom. Love is for suckers as far as Quint is concerned.

In walks Alejandro Sin’Jin Galliani, a successful businessman, in desperate need of a temporary personal assistant. With his domineering, alpha male personality Quint can tell that Alejandro is a man accustomed to getting what he wants, and he wants Quint. But this time Alejandro may have bitten off more than he can chew, while Quint is wondering if there is more to this arrangement then him needing a top notch PA?

Take everyday humor and the odd things that can happen when two people fall in love, then top it off with three nosey friends, a diva Siamese cat and a witch of a boss and A Little Mini-Madness will have you wondering why everyday isn’t a shoe shopping day.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

I wrote this book no seriously I think because I chose to mix humor and sex in one book.  It is not every day you read a chick-lit that is erotic.  Although, I am sure there are more out there, but I have not gotten a chance to read every book that I want to read.

What’s the story behind the story?

Truthfully I was working the grave yard shift at a hotel and I had nothing to do most nights and one night I just started writing.  I have always had stories in my head and I write a bit of poetry here and there, but this story just kind of sprung out of nowhere.  I guess I want to say finally a group of characters in my head decide it was time to be heard.

What is your goal as an author?

I just want others to enjoy my writing as much as I do.  I want others to remember the characters and talk about them as if they have met these people (like I do).  I want my books to do for others what my favorite authors do for me.  They give me a place to escape, they give me joy, and they have created places and people and I am a part of their journey.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

Yes I am working on the next book in the TGP series.  I have to say even I have been surprised by the characters this time around because they have literally taken over (more than usual).  I thought I knew who was going to shine, but then it is the quiet ones you have to watch out for in the end.  I am also working on a paranormal romance as well.  Unfortunately, I’asis Jade has decided she doesn’t want to talk to me anymore.   Her mate on the other (whom refuses to tell me anything about himself) is trying to persuade her to tell the story or he is going to tell it himself at some point.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

Wow, I can never choose I have so many JR Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Brenda Jackson, Nora Roberts, Julia Garwood, Laurell K. Hamilton, Nina Bangs, Jayne Rylon, Zane, Kerrelyn Sparks, Emma Holley, Johanna Lindsay, Gena Showalter, Alexandra Ivy, Dianna Duvall, Lorelei James and the list goes on.  My favorite book right now if I had to choose is Acheron I can read that book over and over, I cry every time and then rejoice.

Where can readers find you and your work?

My book can be purchased on Amazon in kindle edition and print format.

I am a Goodreads author

I have a facebook author page  

Editor/publisher/Book cover creator

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I did try traditional publishing, but I got rejected several times.  I have to thank Katie M. Whitworth (editor/publisher/book cover creator) she was the one that said hey we are going to publish your book today and just like that we had published our first book.  Katie believed in me and she enjoyed the book so much that even she wanted others to read A Little Mini-Madness.  I have no preference because either way requires tons of work, it is not easy and you have to be determined to succeed.

Do you have a favorite quote? 

My favorite quote comes from the Bible Palsms 23

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Have faith and no matter how many times you feel like giving up keep pushing because your day is coming.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

I just want to say thank you so much for interviewing me this is fabulous and I am so happy.  This has been the most nerve racking, crazy, fun, exhausting time of my life I have been blessed and I could not ask for anything more.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Don’t forget to pay DeLeetra a visit at the links below!

Amazon
Goodreads
Facebook
Triquetra Studio

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Author Interview and Giveaway with DeLeetra J. Staley

  1. Great interview! It’s always good to hear about someone fighting for their dreams. I look forward to reading the book.

  2. Rhonda S says:

    Congratulations on this book! This is on my To. Read list.

  3. DeLeetra J. Staley says:

    Thank you Laurel and Thank you Lisa for having me this is so amazing I can’t stop smiling.

  4. Thank you Rhonda for stopping by. 🙂

Leave our authors some love...

