NaNoWriMo 2012!


Hi everyone!

Life is getting busy here…why?? Well, my brother is getting married and I’m moving…BUT ALSO because NaNoWriMo is coming up!

What is this crazy word with weird capitals and no obvious meaning?

It stands for National Novel Writing Month. Get it? National Novel Writing Month = NaNoWriMo. Understand? Good. Here’s the website.

If you’re still confused, watch the video at the end of this post. I promise you won’t regret it 🙂

NaNoWriMo is AWESOME.  The goal of NaNoWriMo is to write a 50,000 word novel in one month. It doesn’t have to be good. It doesn’t have to make sense. The novel doesn’t even have to be finished at the end…you just have to write 50,000 words of it between November 1st and November 31st. But who could possibly do this without people to procrastinate with and lots of caffeine?

That’s why NaNoWriMo has a HUGE community of writers in every major city of the U.S., and most other countries! Find a Region near you here.

What does this mean? Well, even if you have no novel ideas in mind. Even if you fall miserably short of your word count. Even if you just want to write short stories, poems, or gobbledegook, you have a month of excuses to do it with other awesome writers. Meet the writers in your area and learn from their experiences and expertise. THAT’S why I’m super excited this year…not just because it’s NaNo. I took the NaNo challenge last year. But because, this year, for the first time, I’ll get to participate in the NaNo community of writers where I live, in Lexington, KY! Kick off parties, all night write-ins, planning meetings, and goodness knows what else.

YAY! I’ll finally have friends! I mean…new friends…because of course I have friends…(characters count, right?)

So that’s why I’m super excited for NaNoWriMo this year. The chance to meet awesome writers and new friends (and also get my re-write for Crystallized finished, as well as serious progress on its sequel, Fractallized.) You know the old saying “If you wait until the last minute, it only takes a minute?” I kind of feel like that about NaNo…only with “minute” replaced by “month.”

Now, for your viewing pleasure, NaNoWriMo explained by John Green 🙂

WHY ARE YOU EXCITED FOR NANOWRIMO???

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in My Writing Career, News and Articles, Writing Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2012!

  1. Pingback: NANOWRIMO Getting Ready « bridgesburning

  2. Tracey says:

    I do love NaNoWriMo. I’m trying to figure out what I used to do in November before NaNo. Oh right. Thanksgiving. My handle there is yecarth. Let’s be buddies.

    • Lisa Taylor says:

      Haha, Thanksgiving is just an obstacle now that I’ve started doing NaNo every year. “What, there’s a whole day or two where my family is going to expect me to be sociable and not write!? But it’s NANO!”

      I added you as a buddy…my username there I believe is just Lisa Taylor. (creative for an author, right?) Good luck with NaNo 2012!!

Leave our authors some love...

