Author Interview with D.A. Roberts


I was born in rural Missouri to a working class family. My early life centered around family, the farm and school. Early on, my mother instilled in me a deep love of reading, which continues to this day. My mother always encouraged my writing, even as a child…when it was really bad. Hopefully, it’s gotten better.

Throughout a diverse career, I’ve been a soldier, a factory worker, a security officer, a bouncer, a lab technician, and most recently… a Corrections Officer. I love being a C.O. almost as much as I love writing. Ragnarok Rising gave me an outlet for both.

I’ve been married to my wife, Annette, for nineteen years. We have three great sons, Nathan, Nicholas and Noah. We also have an English Mastiff named Xander. He thinks he’s one of the boys, too.

When not playing C.O. or writing, I enjoy geo-caching, role-playing games, reading, riding my mountain bike, cooking, camping and most of all…spending time with my family.

Visit D.A. at: His Website,  Facebook,  Twitter,  Amazon,  B&N,  Smashwords

Hello! What’s your name?

My name is D.A. Roberts

What do you write and why?

I wrote the zombie novel, Ragnarok Rising: The Awakening. I write primarily horror genre.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I love to read horror and zombies, in particular. Partly because it’s research to see how others write in my genre, but mainly just because I love it.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

My debut novel is called Ragnarok Rising: The Awakening

What is it about?

Ragnarok Rising: The Awakening is a zombie novel set in the Midwest City of Springfield, Missouri. It centers on a group of officers from the local sheriff’s department and other survivors as they try to survive and rescue others in the opening days of the zombie apocalypse. It shows first responders trying to cope with a world their training never prepared them for. It’s a very human story about friendship, love and duty.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

I believe what sets RRTA apart from other books in the genre is its believability. They use tactics, plans and react like you would expect people to react. The action is intense but not unlikely. No one is a “super soldier” with amazing abilities or skills. These are everyday people fighting for their lives and the lives of the people they care about.

What’s the story behind the story?

I’m a corrections officer. One night, a few of us officers were having coffee and talking about movies. The subject turned to horror and specifically zombie movies. One of us asked “How would we react if it happened here?” It went from there. I couldn’t look at my hometown in the same way, again. Ragnarok Rising was born out of that conversation.

What is your goal as an author?

The goal of every author is to entertain their readers so that they enjoy your work. When your readers are happy, you’ve done your job.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I’m currently working on the sequel to RRTA, it’s called Ragnarok Rising: The Reckoning. It picks up right where RRTA leaves off. I’m hoping to have it finished and at the publisher later this year.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

That’s hard to say. I love so many writers and novels. I’m a fan of books. I read so many different genres and styles that it’s hard to say what my favorite is. I have many. I love the Tolkien novels. Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, Jack Higgins, Stephen King, Robert Heinlein, HP Lovecraft, Edgar Allan Poe, HG Wells, Michael Crichton….there’s many more, I’m sure.

Where can readers find you and your work?

If I’m not in uniform, I’m probably with my family or behind a keyboard. Look for me on FacebookTwitter, and on my website.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I prefer traditional publishing, but there’s nothing wrong with self-publishing. Both get your work out there. I just prefer to have a publisher to handle all of the legal details and help you protect your copyright.

Do you have a favorite quote?

I love quotes. I put them at the beginning of every chapter in my books. Quotes motivate and inspire. I think my favorite would have to be

“People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.”
– George Orwell

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Do your research. Make sure you know what you’re writing about. Your readers will see right through you if you try to wing it. Doing your research allows you to bring realism to the story. Without it, people lose interest quickly and don’t want to read your work again.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Thanks for featuring me. I really appreciate it. I hope that the fans out there enjoy the interview and tell their friends. Thank you to everyone out there who has read or helped out with RRTA. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to entertain you with my work. I hope you enjoy it and feel free to leave me comments or questions on my websites. I love to hear from you.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Don’t forget to visit D.A. at the sites below!

His Website
Facebook
Twitter
Amazon
B&N
Smashwords

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave our authors some love...

