Author Interview with Mackenzie Knight


Mackenzie Knight is a published Author. Her new eBook, Cypress Hill, A Ghostly- Vampire Tale, is now available. She is Paranormal Researcher, and Investigator . Radio Personality. She has her own Celebrity Paranormal Radio Show, Unearthly Encounters Live! On Blog Talk Radio. Mackenzie grew up in a Haunted House, she believes the Ghosts were attachments from Haunted Antiques, throughout the home.

Visit her at: AmazonBarnes and Noble, Cypress Hill Website

Hello! What’s your name?

Mackenzie Knight

What do you write and why?

Fiction Paranormal-Horror Thrillers, for Adults and Young Adults. Non fiction Paranormal.

Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

I like to read Stephen King ,Dean Koontz, J.D. Robb, who is Nora Roberts. PC Cast. Mostly I enjoy reading Paranormal non-fiction. Such as books like Aliens Above, Ghost Below by Barry E. Taff, or The Ghost Detectives Guide To Haunted San Francisco by Loyd Auerbach and Annette Martin. I also enjoy the Weiser Field Guide Books, such as the Guide to the Paranormal, by Judith Joyce. I like the Encyclopedia to the Unseen World by Constance Victoria Briggs.  Books by Judika Illes, such as the book The Encyclopedia of  Saints and Sages, The Book of 5000 spells.I enjoy A wide variety  of Books. I own many, many different kinds of Books.  I read these so I can learn further about these subjects from people who are experts in these fields. I also like to read because it takes you to an imaginary world. At least for awhile.

What is the title you are promoting right now?

I am promoting My eBook right now called Cypress Hill.

What is it about?

A twist of fate. Eternal evil. A woman caught between life, heaven, and hell. A love that breaks the boundaries beyond the veil. By all medical standards, Mary Reilly is dead. Lifeless, her body lies on a cold steel gurney in the mortuary. Her ‘inner eyes’ open, discovering her body. Immobile, Mary needs answers and help. Who will believe? With less than 24 hours before oblivion she embarks on a desperate fight for her life – and Jack Traynor must learn more than the ropes at Olympus Lawn Cemetery: He must master the art of survival in confronting an unstoppable terror obsessed with Mary. His destiny is to save Mary from a fate waiting for her in a plot on Cypress Hill. Or is it?

Here is a little more-

Cypress Hill is a fast paced Horror Novella. Mary Rielly went in for a routine tonsillectomy, not knowing that her surgeon was not who he appeared to be. He injects Mary with a serum. In the meantime Jack starts his new job at Olympus Lawn Cemetery. He is told by Old Mac his new boss the horrors on Cypress Hill, a burial mound there. Mary lies in the Mortuary, her inner eyes open, but she cannot move or speak. She begins to remember what happened to her and that strange Surgeon. She is told by a spirit  that a Man in the Cemetery will help her, but she must leave her body. Mary thinks he can not see, or hear me how can he help me, she knows she is a ghosts of sorts. Jack does help Mary once she leaves her body. Mary and Jack go on a quest to stop a Vampire who caused her plight. The only problem is Mary is without a body. They have less than 24 hours to stop the unstoppable, and get Mary back in her body before the serum wears off.Many obstacles stand in their way. They go on a desperate journey. Well you have to read it to find out what happens but its a lot of fun excitement in one very unique tale.

What makes this book different from others in your genre?

It is very unique, My Vampire for instance is a surgeon, he doesn’t like to feed off people.  Mary my main character is very much like an everyday person who was thrown in extra-ordinary circumstances by something not of this world. She must find a way to stop him, and get back to her body in less than 24 hours, or she will die or even worse. Jack Traynor is the very nice gentle, handsome hero, yet vulnerable at the same time. He is an average guy that does extraordinary things trying to save Mary who he falls in love with during the coarse of this fast paced quest. It has Ghosts, Angels, A Vampire, the Undead ( not zombies), it is just not like your average Vampire book. I tried to write it without obscenities and bloody gore so young people could enjoy it too. I do not think all that is necessary in getting the story across.

What’s the story behind the story?

At one point in My life I lived in a small town called Holiday, there was a beautiful yet eerie park like Cemetery there. It intrigued me. A friend asked me why don’t you write your book about this Cemetery and I did. I used some landmarks in the town and changed the names.

What is your goal as an author?

To write that one story that will captivate everyone’s attention.

Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

I now would like to finish part 2 to Cypress Hill, in the works. I also want to write a book about My haunted life, I’ve had many experiences since I was a little girl.

Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

My favorite Author of all has to be Stephen King, The Stand- just an amazing work.

Where can readers find you and your work?

At Amazon, Barnes and Noble

Cypress Hill Website – hit the pic take you to my amazon page.

What’s your view on the self-publishing/traditional publishing thing? Ideally, which one would you prefer and why?

I have already self published. I would really like to go with the tradition this time around. It has great advantages.

Do you have a favorite quote?

Because I believe in love-
“There are some things though, I know for certain. Always throw spilled salt over your left shoulder, keep rosemary by your garden gate, plant lavender for luck and fall in love-whenever you can.”

What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

Don’t ever give up. Just take those rejection letters toss em, and keep striving toward your goal, someone will love your work. Believe in yourself, and your dreams will come true. Write everyday even a page, even by hand. Something you write that day no matter how trivial it might seem, may be a big part of something one day.

Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

Writing can be very frustrating sometimes, but if you work hard and finish a book, its your creation. It is a beautiful thing. When mine was done and I saw it, the tears formed. It is something you brought into the world to share and that is an extraordinary thing.

Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you!

Thank you so much for talking with me.

Don’t forget to pay Mackenzie a visit at the links below!

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Cypress Hill Website

About Lisa Taylor

Hello! I'm an author, and in my time as an author I've realized that there are thousands of authors out there that just don't get the attention they deserve. So I'm hosting this "Writer's Block Party" so you can get to know the people that create the stories we all love!
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with Mackenzie Knight

  1. Doug Roberts says:

    Great interview! Mackenzie, you rock!

Leave our authors some love...

